Outreach and Public Engagement

Academic schools, departments and research centres associated with the College of SEFS offer a wide range of outreach and public engagement events throughout the year. These events are largely focused on, but not limited to, primary and secondary school children. The College of SEFS promotes the areas of STEM to the wider public, for several reasons:

  • To increase awareness of STEM disciplines with the general public.
  • To encourage people to move into the STEM sector for third level study and future STEM employment.
  • To promote better informed and deeper engagement of STEM issues amongst the wider community.

The College of SEFS and its schools and departments work closely with UCC admissions, schools, industry partners and local STEM event organisations to promote STEM. Further information on these events, dates and people to contact are available from each school and department and research centre involved in the organisation of these events.

Outreach Points of Contact

School / Department Point of Contact Email Address
School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences Dr. Tom Doyle t.doyle@ucc.ie
School of Biochemistry and Cell Biology Dr. Sinéad Kerins s.kerins@ucc.ie
School of Chemistry Dr. Dave Otway dave.otway@ucc.ie
School of Computer Science and Information Technology Dr. Sabin Tabirca tabirca@cs.ucc.ie
School of Engineering and Architecture Dr. Hannah Daly h.daly@ucc.ie
School of Food and Nutritional Sciences    
School of Mathematical Sciences Dr. Anca Mustata a.mustata@ucc.ie
School of Microbiology Ms. Carmel Shortiss c.shortiss@ucc.ie
Department of Physics Dr. Bryan Kelleher bryan.kelleher@ucc.ie
Department of Physiology Dr. Marcella Burke
m.burke@ucc.ie

 

Research Centre Point of Contact Email Address
Alimentary Pharmabiotic Centre (APC)                            Dr. Aimee Stapleton  aimee.stapleton@ucc.ie
Centre for Marine and Renewable Energy (MaREI) Ms. Aoife Deane aoife.deane@ucc.ie
Environmental Research Institute (ERI) Dr. Aoife Corcoran aoife.corcoran@ucc.ie
Tyndall Research Institute Ms. Alida Zauers
alida.zauers@tyndall.ie 

College of Science, Engineering and Food Science

Coláiste na hEolaíochta, na hInnealtóireachta agus na hEolaíochta Bia

Block E, Level 3, Food Science Building, UCC, Cork, T12 YN60.

Top