Athena SWAN Steering Group


Committee Member Academic Unit
Prof. Jennifer Mahony (Chair) School of Microbiology and APC Microbiome Institute 
Dr. Therese Uniacke-Lowe School of Food and Nutritional Sciences 
Dr. Aidan Quinn  Tyndall National Institute 
Dr. Anne Moore  School of Biochemistry and Cell Biology 
Ms. Annette Feeney  EDI Unit 
Dr. Bryan Kelleher  School of Phhysics 
Ms. Claire Tobin  School of Chemistry 
Prof. Cormac Sreenan  School of Computer Science and Information Technology 
Mr. David Woods  School of Microbiology 
Dr. Denis Kelliher School of Engineering and Architecture 
Dr. Des Field  School of Microbiology 
Ms. Eimear Buckley  SEFS College Office
Dr. Eleni Tsalaporta  School of Engineering and Architecture 
Dr. Elizabeth Gilchrist  School of Chemistry 
Ms. Helen O'Donoghue  Human Resources Business Manager 
Ms. Kate O’Brien College Manager
Ms. Kathryn Bermingham  School of Biochemistry and Cell Biology 
Ms. Leonie O'Doherty  Finance Business Manager 
Ms. Maeve McGinn  People and Culture Programme Manager, Tyndall 
Dr. Marguerite Nyhan  School of Engineering and Architecture 
Ms. Michelle O'Leary  School of Microbiology 
Prof. Ruth Massey  School of Microbiology
Dr. Pat Meere School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences 
Prof. Sarah Culloty  Head of College, SEFS 
Ms. Sarah Murtagh Athena SWAN Project Officer 
Dr. Tony Fitzgerald  School of Mathematical Sciences 

Terms of Reference

The College of SEFS Athena SWAN Steering Group is part of the University Steering Group which acitvely supports the Athena SWAN Charter. The Athena SWAN Charter recognises and celebrates good practice in recruiting, retaining and promoting women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) in higher education. The Charter aims to address gender imbalances in STEMM disciplines, based on the belief that endeavours in these fields will be enriched when they can benefit from the talent of the whole population, and when barriers to progress in academic careers are removed.

College of Science, Engineering and Food Science

Coláiste na hEolaíochta, na hInnealtóireachta agus na hEolaíochta Bia

Block E, Level 3, Food Science Building, UCC, Cork, T12 YN60.