Lilly Awards 2015-2016

Eli Lilly Award for Excellence in Process & Chemical Engineering

Recipients 2015-2016


The awards were held in the Aula Maxima, UCC on Wednesday 23rd November 2016 as part of the Inaugural Process & Chemical Engineering Awards Night.

Tracey Tomchick, Business Leader for Engineering at Eli Lilly presented the awards. Noel Henderson, Personnel Representative, Martin Boyle Team Leader-Biotech Process Engineering and Darragh McDonagh, Team Leader-Process Engineering at Eli Lilly were also in attendance. 

The Department of Process & Chemical Engineering is greatly indebted to Eli Lilly for their continuous sponsorship of the awards. It is a fantastic opportunity to reward young Engineering students for their efforts - both academic and personal.

Class of 2016 

 Robert O'Connell‌

Class of 2017 

 Rowen LaMere

Class of 2018 

 Ruth Murphy

Class of 2019 

 Gary O'Leary

Outstanding Contribution

 Andrew O'Regan and Niamh Murray

*In 2007-8 a new award was created which will be presented only when it is felt that a given student has excelled such as to merit its conferring, and therefore this award may not be necessarily awarded every year. This award is presented to a student who has excelled in developing or fostering the development of a special aspect of the department/discipline:- 
"Outstanding Contribution to the Development of Process & Chemical Engineering"  

In 2015-16 it was again decided to make this award. It was presented to Andrew O'Regan and Niamh Murray for their exceptional contribution to promoting the cause of Process & Chemical Engineering in response to the loss of Masters-level accreditation by the discipline. 


Process and Chemical Engineering

Innealtóireacht Próiseas agus Cheimiceach

Room 312, 3rd floor, Food Science Building, University College Cork