Dr Rebecca Henry selected as Royal Society Trivedi Science Book Prize judge 2023

3 Aug 2023
2023 Royal Society Trivedi Science Book Prize judging panel; Dr Rebecca Henry, Professor Alain Goriely, Bonnie Garmus, Paterson Joseph and Anita Singh

Dr Rebecca Henry, Royal Society Science Foundation Ireland Fellow, PI, and lecturer in the Department of Anatomy & Neuroscience has recently been announced as judge for the 2023 Royal Society Science Book Prize. Supported by the Trivedi Family Foundation, The Royal Society Book Prize celebrates the best popular science writing from across the globe.

Dr Henry joins the five-strong judging panel selected from the worlds of science and culture; author Bonnie Garmus; actor and author Paterson Joseph; The Daily Telegraph’s arts and entertainment editor, Anita Singh; and judging panel chair University of Oxford and Royal Society Fellow Professor Alain Goriely, world-renowned for his development of a mathematical theory for biological growth.

The Royal Society Science Book Prize has been presented annually since 1988 and for over 30 years has championed outstanding popular science writing whose captivating narratives open up science to a wider audience and celebrates the collective joy of science writing.

Some notable past winners including Stephen Hawkins, Bill Bryson and Camilla Pang. Dr Henry along with the other 2023 judges will continue to reaffirm the need for inspiring and engaging science writing as they choose the book from the past twelve months which they believe makes popular science writing compelling and accessible to the public.

From an entry of 252 books, 52 have already been longlisted and reviewed by the judging panel which met on the 26th July at the Royal Society in London. The judging panel are currently busily selecting the shortlist which will be published in September 2023.

The winner of the 2023 Science Book Prize will be announced at a special award ceremony in November 2023 and the winning author will receive the 2023 Royal Society Trivedi Science Book Prize of 25,000 GBP, the five shortlisted book authors will each be awarded 2,500 GBP.




For more on this story contact:

Photographs courtsey of The Royal Society

News item B Riedewald


Department of Anatomy and Neuroscience

Anatamaíocht agus Néareolaíocht

Room 2.33, 2nd Floor, Western Gateway Building, University College, Cork, Ireland