News Archive 2020

Dr Olivia O’Leary receives ECNP 2020 Citation Award.

26 Nov 2020
Dr Olivia O'Leary

Congratulations to Dr Olivia O’Leary, (Senior Lecturer in the Dept of Anatomy and Neuroscience & Funded Investigator in APC Microbiome Ireland) who received the ECNP 2020 Citation Award.

This award is given by the European College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ECNP) to the lead author of the paper most frequently cited in the preceding two years in the  journal European Neuropsychopharmacology.

The award was given to Dr O’Leary at the 33rd ECNP Congress in September 2020 during which she gave a presentation on the winning paper which is entitled “‘The vagus nerve modulates BDNF expression and neurogenesis in the hippocampus’”

The co-authors of the paper included researchers in UCC and McMaster University, and were: Olivia O'Leary, Ebere Ogbonnaya, Daniela Felice, Brunno Levone, Lorraine Conroy, Patrick Fitzgerald, Javier Bravo, Paul Forsythe, John Bienenstock, Timothy Dinan and John Cryan.

Photograph B.Riedewald

See below paper abstract click on title to open publication:

Department of Anatomy and Neuroscience

Anatamaíocht agus Néareolaíocht

Room 2.33, 2nd Floor, Western Gateway Building, University College, Cork, Ireland