Skip to main content

News 2023

UCC Research Awards

2 Jun 2023
UCC Research Awards. Photo: Ger McCarthy

Climate scientists, the developers of the medicines of tomorrow, budding entrepreneurs and partners with communities were among the researchers to have their contributions to research and innovation honoured at the 2022 University College Cork (UCC) Research Awards, held at Devere Hall on Thursday, June 1. Twelve of the winners were from the College of Science, Engineering and Food Science.

UCC is an internationally competitive, research-led university that plays a key role in the development of Ireland’s knowledge-based economy and provides the insight and understanding on the challenges facing our society. The UCC Research Awards embrace this excellence in research, innovation and entrepreneurial activity, across the entire university research community and from all disciplines.

The quality and recognition of research success across the University, including outputs from individuals and UCC Research Institutes and Centres, is measured by key research metrics such as publications, citations, collaborative interactions, patents and spin-out companies. Researchers were awarded across 20 categories, five of which recognise specific achievements in entrepreneurship and innovation.

UCC’s first ERC Advanced award holder, Professor Paul Ross, and Professor Dagmar Schiek, the first legal scholar in Ireland to be awarded an Advanced ERC award, were joint winners of the Researcher of the Year award. UCC’s strong heritage in RNA research was also honoured - the ‘Father of RNA recoding’, Professor John Atkins, was the joint recipient of a Career Achievement award.

The guest of honour at the awards ceremony was Dr Catherine Day, chairperson of UCC’s governing body.

Professor John F. Cryan, UCC Vice President for Research and Innovation at UCC said: “Congratulations to all awards recipients. This year, the standard of nominations across all award categories was indicative of the exceptional level of research and innovation throughout the University. UCC is a research-intensive University, and the annual Research Awards recognise and celebrate those UCC researchers who have made exceptional and influential research and innovation contributions, pushing boundaries, enhancing knowledge and raising the national and international research profile of our institution.”

The full list of UCC Research Awards 2022 winners is below. College of Science, Engineering and Food Science winners are in bold. 



Researcher of the Year

Professor Paul Ross, APC Microbiome Ireland, and School of Microbiology

Professor Dagmar Schiek

Early-Stage Researcher of the Year

Dr Jean O'Dwyer, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Dr Piotr Kowalski

Research Support Person of the Year

Martin O’Connell

Dr Seán Lucey

Research Supervisor of the Year

Professor Catherine Stanton

Dr Emanuel Popovici, School of Engineering and Architecture

Research Communicator of the Year

Professor Hannah Daly, School of Engineering and Architecture/MaREI

Research Award for Open Science

Professor Colm O’Dwyer, School of Chemistry

Creating a Culture for Responsible Conduct of Research

Dr Aoife Coffey

Innovator of the Year (Life Sciences)

Dr Lucia Santos, Dr Patrick Harrison

Innovator of the Year (Physical Sciences)

Dr Han Shao, Dr Alan O'Riordan, Dr Tarun Narayan

Consultancy Project of the Year

Dr Marguerite Nyhan, School of Engineering and Architecture/MaREI

Licence of the Year

Applied Mathematics UCC & Mercy University Hospital

Spin-out Company of the Year

Adiso Therapeutics (Professor Paul Ross and Professor Colin Hill), School of Microbiology)

Start-up of the Year


Best Publication of the Year Involving an Undergraduate Student as an Author

Ruairí McIntyre

Research Team of the Year

UCC Palaeontology, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Research Image of the Year

Roksana Niewadzisz

Engaged Research of the Year

Professor Maggie O'Neill

Vice-President for Research and Innovation Award for Interdisciplinary Research

Dr Katharina Becker

Dr James O'Sullivan

Research Collaboration of the Year

Dr Patrick O'Callaghan

Professor Brendan Griffin

The President's Award for Research Impacting SDGs

Dr Alicia Mateos Cárdenas, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences/ERI

Career Achievement Research Award

Professor John Atkins, School of Biochemistry and Cell Biology

Professor Anita Maguire, School of Chemistry

College of Science, Engineering and Food Science

Coláiste na hEolaíochta, na hInnealtóireachta agus na hEolaíochta Bia

Block E, Level 3, Food Science Building, UCC, Cork, T12 YN60.