Skip to main content

News 2023

Celebration for Professor Séamus Davis

24 Mar 2023
Professor Davis pictured with members of his research group. Also pictured: Prof John Cryan, VP for Research and Innovation, UCC; Prof Sarah Culloty, Head, College of SEFS; Saba Loftus, Development Manager, College of SEFS. Photo: Tomas Tyner, UCC.

A special reception was held to honour Professor Séamus Davis, School of Physics, on receiving the American Physical Society’s Oliver E. Buckley Prize in Condensed Matter Physics.

This is an accolade that recognises 25 years of work and Professor Davis’ development of quantum microscopes that allow direct atomic scale imaging of quantum matter existing within advanced materials. The prize has been awarded annually since 1953, and a total of 18 recipients of the Buckley Prize have also won the Nobel Prize in Physics in the past 70 years.

Professor Davis is pioneering a research programme at UCC and Oxford University in a joint appointment supported by Science Foundation Ireland (SFI), that is advancing the field of quantum physics. He and his team have developed a spectroscopic imaging-scanning tunnelling microscope (STM) in their lab in the Kane Building, which is one of just six such machines in the world.


College of Science, Engineering and Food Science

Coláiste na hEolaíochta, na hInnealtóireachta agus na hEolaíochta Bia

Block E, Level 3, Food Science Building, UCC, Cork, T12 YN60.