Skip to main content

News Archive 2019

Politics Awards 2019

The Department of Government and Politics was delighted to celebrate achievements of its BA and MA Politics students on the evening of 28th March. Family and friends joined with staff to congratulate the students on their achievements.

Niall McMahon was awarded the BA1 Student of the Year 2018. Dr David Fitzgerald, School of History, presented the award.

Niall McMahon (right) with Dr David Fitzgerald

Eimear Buckley was awarded the BA2 Student of the Year 2018. As Eimear was unable to join us, her sister Niamh accepted the award on her behalf, from Dr. Mervyn O’Driscoll, School of History.


Niamh Buckley (right) accepting the award, on behalf of her sister Eimear, from Dr Mervyn O’Driscoll

Seamus Allen received the award for BA3 Student of the Year for 2018. Prof. Don Ross, Department of Philosophy, presented the award to him.

Seamus Allen (right) accepting the award from Prof. Don Ross

The award for BA3 Best Dissertation for 2018 was awarded to Eoghan O’Neill. Unfortunately, Eoghan was unable to join us on the night.


Ruth Linehan was awarded the MA Student of the Year for 2018. Dr Liam Weeks, Department of Government and Politics, presented the award.


Dr Liam Weeks presenting the award to Ruth Linehan.


The final award of the evening was the presentation of the Diarmuid Whelan Memorial Cup to Ruth Linehan as the winner of the MA Best Dissertation for 2018. Dr Jason Dockstader, Department of Philosophy, presented the award to Ruth.

Ruth Linehan (right) with Dr Jason Dockstader

The Award winners with Dr Clodagh Harris, Head of Department of Government & Politics. From left to right, Niamh Buckley, Seamus Allen, Ruth Linehan, Dr Clodagh Harris, and Niall McMahon.



Department of Government & Politics

Roinn Léann an Rialtais agus na Polaitíochta

2nd Floor, Block B, O'Rahilly Building, University College Cork, Republic of Ireland,