Skip to main content

News, Views & Events

Tyndall wins UCC Staff Recognition Award

6 Oct 2017
UCC Staff recognition Awards 2017

Congratulations to the Empowering Women @ Tyndall team, who were presented with the Frank McGrath Perpetual Award for Equality and Welfare yesterday evening at the 2017 UCC Staff Recognition Awards!

Empowering Women @ Tyndall was founded by a group of researchers and administrative staff with a common vision to support and encourage female staff and students across the Tyndall Institute to reach their full potential.  Established in 2016 with the vision of addressing gender representation and motivated by their participation in the Aurora Leadership Programme, this self-started gender initiative focusses on crafting a supportive network for all women.  Through its mentoring programme and other initiatives, Empowering Women @ Tyndall addresses inequality in order to foster and build confidence, creating an environment that encourages more women to want to work in Science.

"Dynamic, inclusive and well-run initiatives like EW@T will be crucial if we are all to create the diverse technologies, services and products that will be needed in our future." Ann O'Dea, CRO, Silicon Republic; founder, Inspirefest

The Empowering Women @ Tyndall Committee: Dr Karan Twomey, Dr Peter O'Brien, Dr Fatima Gunning, Mr Hugh Smiddy, Ms Niamh Kavanagh, Professor Cian Ó Mathúna, Ms Michelle Farrell, Dr Anthony Morrissey, Ms Eilís Mulcahy, Dr Lynette Keeney and Dr Patricia Vazquez

For more information on the awards, see

Athena SWAN

G01 EDI Unit,South Lodge,