News 2012

UCC Represented on Judging Panel to Select Internationally Outstanding Female Scientists

5 Jul 2012

UCC Represented on Judging Panel to Select Internationally Outstanding Female Scientists.

The L’Oréal-UNSECO Women in Science Awards celebrate the achievements of female scientists in Ireland and the UK.  This year, Professor John O’Halloran, Head of the School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Science, was on the judging panel to select the International Laureate Programme winner.  Four outstanding female scientists, who are all working on postdoctoral studies, were each awarded fellowships of £15,000 to spend on whatever they may need to continue their research. 

The 2012 winners included Dr Silvia Giordani (Trinity College Dublin), Dr Katrina Lythgoe(Imperial College Londo) , Dr Claire Spottiswoode (University of Cambridge) and Dr Geetha Srinivasan (Queen’s University Belfast). 

Speaking after the ceremony at London’s Royal Society, Professor O’Halloran said “I am confident that these eminent women will break new ground in the years to come and will contribute to their specialist fields of science, to education and the economy.  I wish to add my congratulations to the winners and look forward to their contributions to science in the future.”

Included in photo L to R: Dr Beth Taylor, Institute of Physics & UKNC UNESCO Board, Science Professor Matthew Rosseinsky, University of Liverpool Professor Naomi Chayden, Imperial College London Chair of Jury Professor Dame Athene Donald DBE FRS, University of Cambridge Professor Lorna Casselton, University of Oxford and The Royal Society Professor John O’ Halloran, University College Cork, Ireland Mrs Julie McManus, L’Oreal UK and Ireland, Director of Science.

Jury Photo

College of Science, Engineering and Food Science

Coláiste na hEolaíochta, na hInnealtóireachta agus na hEolaíochta Bia

Block E, Level 3, Food Science Building, UCC, Cork, T12 YN60.