Skip to main content

News, Views & Events

UCC hosts National Athena SWAN Awards Ceremony

8 Nov 2023
L-R: Professor Stephen Byrne (Deputy President & Registrar); Ms Clodagh McAllen, Ms Kathleen O’Sullivan, Dr Tony Fitzgerald (School of Mathematical Sciences); Professor Nicole Müller, Dr Ciara O’Toole (School of Clinical Therapies); Professor John Morrison, Professor Utz Roedig (School of Computer Science and Information Technology); Ms Katarzyna Pyrz (Equality Data Analyst), Ms Sarah Murtagh (Athena SWAN Project Officer), and Dr Claire Murray (Interim EDI Unit Director)

On the 8th of November, University College Cork hosted the national Athena SWAN Awards Ceremony. The objective of the Athena SWAN Ireland charter framework is to support higher education institutions, schools and professional Units in impactful and sustainable gender equality work and to build capacity for evidence-based equality work across the equality grounds enshrined in Irish legislation.

Professor Stephen Byrne, Deputy President & Registrar and the Chair of the University’s Athena SWAN Steering Group welcomed delegations from Advance HE UK, Advance HE Ireland, the Higher Education Authority and representatives of more than 30 institutions and schools.

UCC’s School of Clinical Therapies, School of Mathematical Sciences and School of Computer Science and Information Technology celebrated first-time Bronze Athena SWAN awards adding to a total of 16 school-level accreditations currently earned by the University.

The University of Limerick and Trinity College Dublin collected the first-ever Silver accreditations for the Higher Level Institutions in Ireland. The Economic and Social Research Institute (ESRI) was the first ever research institute to receive the Athena SWAN accreditation.

Athena SWAN

G01 EDI Unit,South Lodge,