News 2018

APC/SEFS Microbiome Ireland Scientists Feature in 2018 Highly Cited List

29 Nov 2018
SEFS researchers Professor Paul Ross, Professor Elke Arendt & Professor Colin Hill are among ten APC Microbiome Ireland scientists feature in 2018 Highly Cited List. Also included in photo Professor Catherine Stanton, Teagasc, Dr. Orla O'Sullivan, Teagasc, Dr. Paul Cotter, Teagasc and Professor John Cryan, UCC. Not in picture: SEFS researchers Professor Ger Fitzgerald & Professor Paul O'Toole and also Professor Ted Dinan, UCC. Photo: Tomas Tyner, UCC.

Ten APC Microbiome Ireland researchers have been named in the 2018 world list of Highly Cited Researchers, five of whom are in the new Cross-Field category. 

Voted by their peers around the globe as the most influential with the highest impact in their field, the APC Microbiome Ireland researchers based in University College Cork and Teagasc, work in the areas of food, microbiome and health.

Professor Mark Ferguson, Director General of Science Foundation Ireland and Chief Scientific Adviser to the Government of Ireland, said: “I would like to congratulate the ten researchers … working to solve some of the world’s biggest challenges in the areas of food, microbiome and health, ranked in the top 1% of their fields alongside Nobel laureates, is a fantastic achievement.”

College of Science, Engineering and Food Science

Coláiste na hEolaíochta, na hInnealtóireachta agus na hEolaíochta Bia

Block E, Level 3, Food Science Building, UCC, Cork, T12 YN60.