News Archive

2011 School of History Prize Giving Ceremony

28 Feb 2011


For more information and images of the ceremony please click here.

The School of History prize-giving ceremony took place on Monday, 28 February in the Aula Maxima. The ceremony is an annual event celebrating the excellent achievements of students at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. The event provides an opportunity for the staff of the School of History to acknowledge publicly and pay appropriate tribute to the inspiring work of those students. Prizes were awarded to the History Student of the Year in I, II and III Year, as well as at MA level - for work completed in the last academic year. Prizes were similarly awarded to European Integration Studies students for achievement at undergraduate level.

The event also provides an opportunity to acknowledge the generosity of the donors and representatives of the families of donors of various other prizes which were awarded – the John A. Murphy Prize in Irish History, the John B. O’Brien Annual Prize in History, the Leonora Hanrahan Prize in History and the James and Mary Hogan Prize in History. All of these prizes carry considerable prestige, as well as providing much-appreciated financial assistance to History students.

The Head of School, Professor Geoff Roberts, acknowledged the achievement of two of the prize winners in also being awarded a National University of Ireland Mansion House Fund Scholarship and a National University of Ireland Travelling Studentship in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

The ceremony concluded with an address by Emeritus Professor John A. Murphy who discussed the experience of studying History at UCC, past and present.

School of History

Scoil na Staire

Tyrconnell,Off College Road,Cork,Ireland.