Skip to main content

Postgraduate Study

MA Programmes

The School of History has six MA programmes:

The School also offers a Masters by Research (MRes) in which students pursue their own independent research project under the guidance of a supervisor with expertise in the relevant field.

The School of History is a leading centre for postgraduate study with over 60 postgraduates working on taught and research degrees annually.

Its specialists in cultural, economic, political, intellectual, international, and social themes guide research into significant dimensions of Ireland, Europe and the wider world from the late antiquity to the twenty first century.

Currently, its staff supervise postgraduates on topics across all time periods including Irish-European interactions, migration, representations of Ireland, the Renaissance, ecclesiastical history, nationalisms (Irish, Polish, French, German, American etc.), war and peace, International Relations, European Studies, strategy, memory and history, the Irish famine, the Irish revolution (1912-1923), independent Ireland, international history, labour, women, social questions, digital history, European history, the Cold War and American foreign policy.

Its success in nurturing postgraduate studies reflects its strong research and public profile. It is a key contributor to collaborative MAs with other academic units including:


Research Programmes

The School also offers MRes, MPhil and PhD programmes as well as the Masters Qualifying Examination in History and the Higher Diploma in Arts in History. Further information under 'PhD' and 'Other Degrees'.


Applications for all programmes are made online through UCC's application system.

How to Apply


Further information available from programme co-ordinators or Joy O'Callaghan, Postgraduate Administration Office, School of History, Tyrconnell 021-4902755 or


For information on scholarship opportunities within the School of History, click here.

School of History

Scoil na Staire

Tyrconnell,Off College Road,Cork,Ireland.