News and Events

WATCH: School of Law Students Awarded at UCC College of Business and Law Virtual Prize Giving

8 Dec 2020

The annual Scholarships and Prize Giving Ceremony recognises undergraduate and postgraduate students for their academic achievements.

This year’s ceremony was broadcast online on Thursday 17 December from 4pm, and can be viewed below:


The variety of prizes awarded to students at the ceremony range from internships and travel bursaries to fees and stipends. Twenty-five undergraduate and postgraduate students from the School of Law received prizes on the day from our generous sponsors. In total across the wider College of Business and Law, 39 scholarships/prizes were awarded, with over 100 students recognised. 

The total value of awards this year across both Schools of the College of Business and Law exceeds an incredible €180,000.  The School of Law would like to thank all our sponsors for their generosity. Their support helps our students to achieve academic excellence in their studies across a wide range of legal areas.

A full list of prize-winners and sponsors is available below.

Congratulations to all our prize-winning students! 

School of Law Prize-Winners and Sponsors at UCC College of Business and Law Annual Scholarships and Prize Giving Ceremony 2020

A&L Goodbody Company Law Prize

A&L Goodbody sponsor a prize for the exam in LW3345, Company Law: Fundamental Concepts and Doctrines in the first semester of each academic year.

A&L Goodbody are proud to offer the prize of a place on the A&L Goodbody Summer Intern Programme (SIP) and an additional cash prize for the highest mark achieved in the exam.

Moya Conway, BCLF4 (Joint Winner)

Stephen Scanlan,  BCLC4 (Joint Winner)



A&L Goodbody EU Law Essay Prize

A&L Goodbody sponsor an award for the best essay in the EU Law module “Economic Law of the European Union” in the first semester of each academic year.

A&L Goodbody is proud to sponsor the prize of an iPad, which will be awarded for the highest mark achieved.  In the event of joint winner students will be presented with a cash prize.

Eolann Harrington,  EBCL3  (Joint Winner)

Ronan Garvey, LLB2  (Joint Winner)



The Aidan Synnott Graduate Study Travel Bursary Scheme

Thanks to the generosity of Aidan Synnott, a UCC BCL graduate practising as a lawyer in the USA, a fund is made available each year to fund travel to research locations outside UCC for PhD and LLM students.

Tobi Ramat Abudu, PhD

Claire O’Connell, PhD



The Bloomsbury Prize

This prize is awarded by the publishers, Bloomsbury Professional, to the student who receives the highest mark in the First Civil Law examination.

Darragh O’Keeffe – BCL (Law and Irish) I



The Brian Dillon Memorial Prize

Brian Dillon, born 1830 in Glanmire, was a leading Cork Fenian and Republican agitator and the Prize is dedicated by his descendants to his memory. Arising from his political activities he was incarcerated in Cork City Gaol; Mountjoy Prison, Dublin; Pentonville Prison, London; and Woking Prison, Surrey. He died in 1872 shortly after his release from Woking Prison.

This Prize is awarded to the undergraduate student who obtains the highest mark in Criminal Law at his/her first attempt, provided he/she obtains the level of distinction (1H).

Eoin Burke – BCL (Law and Business) II



Comyn Kelleher Tobin Graduate Bursary

This graduate bursary is awarded to support LLM by Major Thesis or PhD studies in the Department of Law.

Rhoda Jennings – PhD Law



Gerard O'Keeffe Memorial Prize

In memory of the late Mr Gerard O'Keeffe, Solicitor, formerly of Kanturk, Co. Cork, Mr Niall O'Keeffe has agreed to provide an annual sum of €1,000 for the provision of "The Gerard O'Keeffe Memorial Prize". In addition, the prize-winner's name will be engraved on "The Gerard O'Keeffe Memorial Prize" plaque, located in the School of Law. 

Hazel McAuliffe – BCL (Law and Business) II



The James D. Donegan Moot Court Prize

This prize is awarded annually to the student who in the opinion of the judges is the outstanding speaker at the Annual Gala Moot Court.

The prize is generously donated by S. Donegan & Co. Solicitors, Cobh, Co. Cork.
Jim Donegan was the fourth successive generation of his family to practice as a solicitor in Cork. He studied law at UCC and, after qualifying as a solicitor, he practised in Cork city and county for a period of fifty years. During that time he served with distinction as President of the Southern Law Association, as Dean of the Notaries Public in Ireland and as a Council Member of the Law Society of Ireland.

Isobel Carruthers-Kenny – BCL III



The Matheson Undergraduate Prize in Information Technology Law

The prize is awarded annually to the student whose exam in Information Technology Law achieves the highest mark.

Eddie O’Rourke, BCL



The Oxford University Press Law Prize

Oxford University Press Law Prize  is awarded to the student having the highest overall marks in the second year undergraduate law programmes at the first attempt, as determined by the Dean of the School of Law.

Hazel McAuliffe – BCL (Law and Business) II



The President James Slattery Prize and Medal in Law

Dr. D.A. Slattery MBE, a descendent of James Slattery, 3rd President of Queen's College Cork from 1890 - 1897, in agreement with the School of Law has established an annual prize and a medal in President Slattery's name, to be awarded to a student in the School of Law, UCC.

Amy O’Halloran – PhD Law



The Southern Law Association Prize – Joint

The Southern Law Association, to mark its close and long-standing relationship with the School of Law, University College Cork, has agreed to provide an annual sum of €1,000 for the provision of the "Southern Law Association Prize". The prize will be awarded to the LLM student who obtains, at his/her first attempt at the relevant examinations, the highest mark, for the 15,000 word dissertation, across any of the LLM programmes offered in the School of Law.

Kate Passmore – LLM (Business Law) (Joint Award)

Matthew Chippin – LLM (Marine & Maritime Law) (Joint Award)



Quercus Undergraduate College Scholarships

These Undergraduate Scholarships are awarded by the College of Business & Law based on the results of the Summer 2019 University Examinations.

Colm Bohane, BCL II

Becca Hennigan, BCL (Law and Business) I

Hazel McAuliffe, BCL (Law and Business) II

Elaine McCarthy, BCL (Law and Business) III

Sarah O’Shea, BCL (Clinical) II

Lauren Ní Fhloinn, BCL (Law and French) II

Darragh O’Keeffe, BCL (Law and Irish) I

Alison Clarke, BCL (International) II

Alannah Humphreys (BCL) Pathways I


School of Law

Scoil an Dlí

Room 1.63, Aras na Laoi, T12 T656