News 2011

HIPA Award for Chemistry/ABCRF Researchers

18 May 2011
HIPA Award for Chemistry/ABCRF Researchers

The Minister for Research and Innovation Mr Sean Sherlock TD launched new research projects in the biomedical sphere today.

These projects have been chosen under an innovative new research programme funded by the Johnson & Johnson Corporate Office of Science and Technology (COSAT) and Science Foundation Ireland (SFI).

Dr. Justin McCarthy (Biochemistry Department and ABCRF) in conjunction with Dr. Gerard McGlacken (Department of Chemistry and ABCRF) received an award which will fund a research project focused on determining the involvement of regulated intramembrane proteolysis in the immune system. Specifically the research concerns methods for assessing γ-secretase inhibitors as modulators of IL-1β and TNFα cytokine responses and their potential future use as therapeutics in inflammatory disorders.

School of Chemistry

Scoil na Ceimic

Second Floor, Kane Building, University College Cork, T12 YN60