Postgraduate Research Student Awards 2023

Graduate Studies CoMH: Postgraduate Research Student Awards 2023

Dear students and colleagues,

The Postgraduate Research Student Awards scheme celebrates the outstanding achievements of Postgraduate Research Students in the College of Medicine and Health. The awardees, as follows, were announced at the recent Bright Futures event. Congratulations to all!


Publication of the Year Award

This award is for the best publication by a PGR student as a first author (or joint authors if joint first) from work undertaken while registered as a postgraduate student in the College of Medicine and Health.

Sukainah Al Khalaf

School of Public Health and the INFANT Research Centre

For her publication in the journal Hypertension in 2022 entitled ‘Role of Antihypertensive Treatment and Blood Pressure Control in the Occurrence of Adverse Pregnancy Outcomes: a Population-Based Study of Linked Electronic Health Records.’

Public Engagement Award

This award recognises the contribution by a PGR student who has taken an active approach in communicating and engaging with the public to maximise the impact of their research.

Silvia Veiga Seijo

Department of Occupational Therapy and Occupational Science in the School of Clinical Therapies

Her project investigates the children’s and community members’ perspectives on developing a play-friendly community in a deprived neighbourhood. Silvia has engaged with children as co-researchers who have decided to make a film to explain their ideas to improve play in the community and will be presented at the Children’s Parliament in June 2023.

Highly Commended is Naomi Hanrahan, from APC Microbiome Ireland and the Department of Medicine, School of Medicine.

Outstanding Peer of the Year Award

This award recognises a PGR student who consistently displays characteristics valued and appreciated by other students and colleagues.

Edina Hanley

School of Nursing and Midwifery

Edina’s peer support activities include initiating a regular ‘coffee-and-catch-up’ with other students, help with practicalities such as childcare, and sharing her experiences as a researcher with prospective PhD students. Her dedication and kindness provide steady and outstanding support for peers.

Highly Commended is Maria Caruso from the Department of Anatomy and Neuroscience in the School of Medicine.

Promotion of Equality and Diversity Award

This award recognises a PGR student who has demonstrated an active commitment to promoting equality and diversity in their research activities. 

Sonia Lenehan

Department of Paediatrics & Child Health, School of Medicine and INFANT Research Centre

In 2019 Sonia partnered with the National Council for the Blind to develop and run a workshop for teenagers with visual impairments involving sourcing suitable science equipment and developing tactile experiments. Following this success, Sonia secured an SFI Discover Award to fund the Science4Sightloss project which encourages and empowers children with visual impairments to take part in science. With feedback from the participants Sonia is working to establish these workshops as part of the NCBI independent skills curriculum.

Highly Commended are Ayse Kont, School of Pharmacy and Allison Mula, Department of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy, School of Clinical Therapies

Postgraduate Researcher of the Year Award

This award recognises outstanding contribution by a postgraduate research (PGR) student (doctoral or MSc) in their research field.

Sinéad Horgan

School of Nursing and Midwifery

Sinead’s PhD is on the topic of Surgical Site Infection. In addition to numerous research publications, she has actively integrated her findings into the workplace. A flavour of her contributions include:

  • She is the Chairperson of the surgical site infection surveillance group in CUH
  • Sinéad has designed and implemented an education programme that has been shared with other hospital and national groups
  • She has developed and adult literacy-approved booklet for patients

Highly Commended are Clara Heinrich, School of Pharmacy and Niamh Coffey, School of Dentistry

College of Medicine and Health

Coláiste an Leighis agus na Sláinte

3rd Floor, Erinville Hospital, Western Road, University College Cork, T12 EKDO