Student Discipline Panel and Committee

The Discipline Committee shall be comprised of members of the Discipline Panel approved by Academic Council at least every three years.


The Panel shall comprise the following:

i. 4 nominations of Academic Council.

ii. 2 nominations of the Executive Committee of the Students Union.

iii. Dean of Undergraduate Studies.

iv. Dean of Graduate Studies.

v. 1 nomination of the Director of Buildings & Estates.

vi. 1 nomination of the Corporate Secretary.


So far as is possible, the proposed Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of Discipline Panel should have relevant expertise including prior Committee membership. The Chairperson of Academic Council shall nominate a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson from nominations under i, iii or iv above, subject to ratification at the next scheduled meeting of Academic Council. A Secretary shall also be appointed to support the Discipline Panel. So far as possible, membership of the Discipline Committee will be representative and will take into consideration equality representation such as gender balance.

The minimum number of members required for any meeting of the Discipline Committee will be three (3) and the minimum number required for any Discipline Committee Hearing shall be five (5) in both cases including either the Chairperson or Deputy Chairperson. For the avoidance of doubt, a meeting or hearing of the Discipline Committee may be held by teleconference or such other electronic means as is deemed appropriate by the Chair (or in their absence by the Deputy Chair).

Membership of the Student Discipline Panel

4 Nominations of Academic Council


Dr Deirdre Bennett

 Deputy Chair

Dr Frank Crowley


Professor Cathal O'Connal


Dr Jeffrey Weeter

2 nominations of UCCSU Executive



Dean of Graduate Studies

 Professor Ruth Ramsay

Dean of Undergraduate Studies

 Dr Áine O’Donovan

1 nomination of Director of Buildings and Estates

 Niamh McGettrick Cronin (Administrative Manager)

1 nomination of Corporate Secretary

Keith Burke (Deputy Corporate Secretary)



Academic Affairs and Governance

Gnothaí Acadúla agus Rialú