Skip to main content

Emeritus Professor Committee

Conferring the title of Emeritus/Emerita Professor is made in recognition of services to the University, and is governed under the University Principal Statute: F.1.d. Professor Emeritus/a. The Governing Body shall have power, on the recommendation of the Academic Council, to confer the title of Professor Emeritus/a upon any Professor or Professor (Scale 2), on or after his/her retirement, in recognition of services to the University. The University recognises the significant value and contribution of Emeritus/a Professors to the life of the University. Professors Emeriti/ae shall, for all purposes of courtesy and on ceremonial occasions, be regarded as Professors of the University. Professors Emeriti/ae may be invited by the Head of the relevant academic unit or a senior officer of the University to continue to contribute to the academic work of the University. Any such involvement shall be in line with University Policy. Professors Emeriti/ae shall not be entitled solely by virtue of holding the title of Professor Emeritus/a to be members of any body of the University or to assume any administrative or executive functions on behalf of the University.  Governing Body reserves the right to remove the title in the event that the activities or actions of the holder of the title create the risk of reputational damage to the University. The decision of the Governing Body in this regard shall be final.

Deputy President and Registrar

Professor Stephen Byrne

Ex Officio: 


Four Professors – One from each College


Professor John Carey


Professor Mary Donnelly




Professor Emer Rogan

External Member of Governing Body



Committee Secretary
Head of Academic Affairs and Governance 

Ms Aoife Ní Néill

Academic Affairs and Governance

Gnothaí Acadúla agus Rialú