People

People

People

The staff of the Department of Music comprise composers, improvisers, performers and scholars, who present a unique symbiosis of contemporaneous music teaching and research interests. We specialize in a rich diversity of musical idioms and approaches. Our work assesses European/Western music of many kinds: early music, art music, new music, film music, jazz, popular musics, and electronic and experimental musics. We have considerable strength in the study of Irish traditional music, and we focus on a variety of musics from around the world, with particular strengths in China, Taiwan, Java and India. We engage with a broad spectrum of theoretical and practical approaches, including those from composition, ethnomusicology, gender and sexuality studies, film studies, improvisation, musicology, music technology and performance. 

                 

 

Academic

  
John Godfrey Head of Department

j.godfrey@ucc.ie

Kelly Boyle  Lecturer 

k.boyle@ucc.ie 

Dr. Michelle Finnerty  Lecturer 

m.finnerty@ucc.ie 

Dr. Danijela Kulezic-Wilson  Lecturer 

d.kulezicwilson@ucc.ie 

Dr. Melanie Marshall

Lecturer  ml.marshall@ucc.ie 

Mary Mitchell-Ingoldsby

Lecturer  m.mitchell@ucc.ie 
Dr. Tríona Ní Shíocháin  Lecturer 

triona.nishiochain@ucc.ie 

Paul O'Donnell Lecturer

podonnell@ucc.ie

Dr. Jill Rogers

Lecturer  jillian.rogers@ucc.ie 

Dr. J. Griffith Rollefson

Lecturer  jg.rollefson@ucc.ie 

Prof. Jonathan Stock

Professor of Music  j.stock@ucc.ie 
Dr. Jeffrey Weeter  Lecturer 

j.weeter@ucc.ie

 Administrative/Technical

John Hough

Senior Technical Officer

j.hough@ucc.ie

Celena O'Brien

Executive Assistant

celena.obrien@ucc.ie

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Jessica Cawley Postdoctoral Researcher

jessica.cawley@ucc.ie 

Dr. Colin P. McGuire Postdoctoral Researcher

colin.mcguire@ucc.ie 

Dr. Lijuan Qian Postdoctoral Researcher 

lijuan.qian@ucc.ie 

Departmental Tutors

Rhoda Dullea

Tutor

r.dullea@ucc.ie 

Bobby Gardiner

Tutor   

Danny McCarthy

Tutor   

Dr. Eva McMullan

Tutor

e.mcmullan@ucc.ie 

Colm Murphy

Tutor  

Dr. Dara O'Brien

Tutor

daramobrien@eircom.net 

Connie O'Connell

Tutor   

Ger Wolfe 

Tutor   

Niall Vallely

Tutor niall.vallely@ucc.ie

Postgraduate Students

Edel McDonnell PhD Candidate  

James McGlynn

PhD Candidate  

Affiliated Members  

Dr. Derek Foott

Affiliated Member

derek.foott [at] ucc.ie 

Dr. Germáin Gil-Curiel

Affiliated Member 

german.gc@me.com 

Dr. Francis Heery 

Affiliated Member 

francisheery@gmail.com 
Dr. Mary King

Affiliated Member 

maryjkingmusic@gmail.com 
Dr. Aine Mangaoang Affiliated Member 

ainemangaoang@gmail.com 

Dr. Karen Power  Affiliated Member  

karenpower1@mac.com 

Top