How the College Works

The Organisational Structure of the College of Business and Law

The College of Business and Law was established in 2005 and originally had responsibility for the Faculty of Commerce, established 1909 and the Faculty of Law which was founded in 1849.  In December 2014 Governing Body approved the establishment of the School of Law and Cork University Business School at which point the Faculties went into abeyance with their academic functions were assumed by the College Council.  The Schools commenced activity in January 2015. 

Emerging from the establishment of the Schools the structure of the College has evolved. 

Table 1 gives an overview of the organisational structure of the College, its schools, academic units and research centres. 

Table 2 gives an overview of the Committee Structures that exist at College level. 


Table 1  UCC Organigram - College Element

Table 2   College Committees Organigram



College of Business and Law

Coláiste an Ghnó agus an Dlí

3rd Floor, O' Rahilly Building, University College Cork