News 2011

Plant Science, Ecology and Zoology Awards

Tue, 11 Oct 2011

At a recent prize-giving ceremony in the School of BEES, prizes were awarded for a number of disciplines.

This year's Butler Prize for best Ecology or Environmental Plant Biotechnology 4th year was awarded to Matthew Clifford. (Picture One with Prof. Peter Jones and Prof. John O'Halloran). The Butler prize is named in honour of Sir Edwin John Butler, the famous Irish plant pathologist.

Butler Prize 2011

The Mulcahy Prize for best Zoology 4th year was awarded to Peadar Brehony and accepted on his behalf by his sister Aisling (Picture Two with Prof. John O'Halloran and Prof. Gavin Burnell). The Mulcahy prize is named in honour of Prof. Maire Mulcahy, Emerita Professor of Zoology at UCC and the first female Professor of Zoology at the university.

Mulcahy Prize 2011

This year's O'Rourke Prize for best third year student went to Heather Lane. As Heather was on field work, the award was collected on her behalf by Colin Keane, Fourth Year Class Rep (Picture Three with Prof. John O'Halloran). The O'Rourke Prize is named in honour of Prof. Fergus O'Rourke who served as Chair of Zoology at University College Cork from 1954 to 1982.


O'Rourke Prize 2011 

This year's prize for most improved third year student went to Paul Ryan (Picture Four with Prof. John O'Halloran).


Most Improved Third Year 

<<Previous ItemNext Item>>

« Back to News 2011

School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences

An Scoil Eolaíochtaí Bitheolaíocha, Domhaneolaíocha agus Comhshaoil

Distillery Fields, North Mall, University College Cork, Ireland , T23 N73K.