The School comprises of staff in areas of Academia, Administrative, Technical and Support. The School also has a significant research presence, led by a large number of principle investigators, research staff and postgraduate students located in flagship research centres such as the Environmental Research InstituteMaREI and iCRAG.

We are currently working both remotely and on campus. For all general queries please contact the school office on +353 (0)21 4904650 or by email. For person specific queries, contact our staff below.

Head of School


Associate Staff

Name Role Research Area
Prof. Katherine Bruner Adjunct Professor Geosciences
Prof. Ryan Carnegie Adjunct Professor Marine Science
Prof. Martin Collins Adjunct Professor Marine Science
Prof. David Cabot Adjunct Professor Ornithology
Prof. Garth Earls Adjunct Professor Geosciences
Prof. Richard Smosna Adjunct Professor Geosciences
Prof. Matthijs Schouten Adjunct Professor Ecology

Postgraduate Students

Environmental Science

Name Qualification Discipline
Bianca Govi PhD (Science) Environmental Science 
Luisa Albuquerque de Andrade PhD (Science) Environmental Science
Kieran Cowhig Master of Research Environmental Science 
Jessica Giannoumis PhD (Science) Environmental Science
Irene O'Callaghan PhD (Science) Environmental Science
Eamonn Walsh PhD (Science) Environmental Science
Obaid Alharbi PhD (Science) Environmental Science
Brendan McSorley Master of Research Environmental Science


Name Qualification Discipline
Larissa Macedo Cruz de Oliveira PhD (Science) Geology
John Appah PhD (Science) Geology
Daniel Falk PhD (Science) Geology
Luke O'Reilly PhD (Science) Geology
Gerard Summers PhD (Science) Geology
Siobhan Burke PhD (Science) Geology
Eileen McCarthy PhD (Science) Geology
Tiffany Slater PhD (Science) Geology
Nidia Alvarez Armada PhD (Science) Geology
Odhran McCarthy PhD (Science) Geology
Evan O'Mahony Master of Research Geology
Niamh O'Sullivan Master of Research Geology
Ruaihri Strachan Master of Research Geology

Plant Science

Name Qualification Discipline
Caitlin Looney PhD (Science) Plant Science
Eric Hynes Master of Research Plant Science
Zoe Kampff Master of Research Plant Science
Elizabeth Van Veen Master of Research Plant Science
Ferga Hamilton Master of Research Plant Science
Michael Richards Master of Research Plant Science

Zoology and Ecology

Name Qualification Discipline
Hannah Brownlow PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Maria McGuinness PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Chinelo Nzekwe PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Gaia Crestani PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Jamie Darby PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Jed Kempf PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
James O'Neill PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Nicole Todd PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Samantha Ball PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Shane Somers PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Sara Albuixech Marti PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Katie Costello PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Gary Kett PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Floriane Leseur PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Alan McCarthy PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Ronan O'Sullivan PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Sarah Ryan PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Patrick Schaal PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Amy Cooke PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Jennifer Coomes PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Cian Luck PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Gillian Weyman PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Robert Wynne PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Declan O'Donovan PhD (Science) Zoology/Ecology
Jack Brennan Master of Research Zoology/Ecology
Jennifer Kenny Master of Research Zoology/Ecology
Darren Wilkinson Master of Research Zoology/Ecology

School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences

An Scoil Eolaíochtaí Bitheolaíocha, Domhaneolaíocha agus Comhshaoil

Distillery Fields, North Mall, University College Cork, Ireland , T23 N73K.