ISS21 Board

The ISS21 Board is comprised of representatives of each of the constituent departments along with the Director and Deputy Director of ISS21 and the Research Cluster Leaders. It provides strategic direction and meets regularly. 


The current Board members are:

Professor John McCarthy (Applied Psychology): Chair

Dr. Caitríona Ní Laoire (Deputy Director)

Dr Margaret Scanlon (ISS21 Research Coordinator)

Prof. Cathal O’Connell (Applied Social Studies)

Dr. Piaras Mac Einri (Geography)

Dr. Clodagh Harris (Government)

Dr Helen Lynch (Children & Young People Cluster Leader)

Dr. Deirdre Horgan (Children & Young People Cluster Leader)

Dr. Maire Leane (Applied Social Studies)

Dr. Annalisa Setti (Ageing Cluster Leader)

Dr Edel Walsh (Ageing Cluster Leader) 

Dr. Gill Harold (Disability & Mental Health Cluster Leader)

Dr Catherine Forde (REACT Cluster Leader)

Dr. Carol Kelleher (CARE21 Research Cluster)

Dr Eluska Fernandez (SHAPE Cluster Leader)

Dr. Angela Flynn (Poverties, Social Justice & Equalities Cluster Leader)

Dr. Dug Cubie (Law)

Prof Jeanne Jackson (Occupational Therapies)

Dr. Seamus O Tuama (Adult and Continuing Education)

Dr. Robert King (Applied Psychology)

Dr. Katherine McGarry (History)

Dr Fiachra O'Suilleabhain (Genders, Sexualities & Families Cluster Leader)

Dr Monica O'Mullane (Genders, Sexualities & Families Cluster Leader)

Dr Kian Mintz-Woo (Philosophy)

Prof Colin Bradley (General Practice)

Dr. Máire Ní Ríordáin (Education)

Dr Ger Mullally (Sociology)                                          

Dr Eleanor Doyle (Economics) 

Dr Orla Lynch, (Criminology)

Dr. Susan Calnan (School of Public Health)

Dr Allen White (CACSSS)

Institute for Social Science in the 21st Century (ISS21)

Top Floor, Carrigbawn/Safari Building, Donovan Road, Cork, T12 YE30