Skip to main content

News 2024

School of Chemistry Awards presented at Poster Session 2024

1 May 2024

Presentations of School of Chemistry awards took place at the annual Poster Session on Wednesday 17th April in the Aula Maxima.

The Eli Lilly Prize was awarded to Caoimhe Deborah McGrath. This prize is awarded annually to the student who has obtained the highest mark in Chemistry and passed the Summer First University Examination in Science, at the first attempt, and who subsequently registers for an honours degree in Chemistry at UCC.

The Oxford University Press Achievement Prize was awarded to Sean Connolly. This award is presented to the student who obtained first place in the third year BSc (Hons) degree examination.

The Reilly Prize was awarded to Ciara Millerick. This prize is awarded to the candidate who has obtained first place in the fouth year BSc (Hons) degree examination and has obtained first class honours.

And finally The George Guilbault Prize (sponsored by Agilent) was also awarded to Ciara Millerick. This medal is awarded to the student who has achieved the highest aggregate performance in analytical chemistry, comprising the modules CM4026, CM4027 and either module CM4207 (B.Sc. Chemistry with Forensic Science students) or module CM4206 (B.Sc. Chemistry students).

Professor Anita Maguire congratulated all of the prize-winners saying, "It is great to see the hard work and creativity of our students in the School of Chemistry recognised through these prizes. The financial support from our sponsors Eli Lilly and the participation of chemists from Lilly in judging the posters is very much appreciated."

The poster session also included awards based on the posters presented, and a full list of all awards and poster winners are listed below:

Chemistry Awards Name
Eli Lilly Prize 2023 Caoimhe Deborah McGrath
Oxford University Press Achievement Prize 2023 Sean Connolly
School of Chemistry Reilly Prize 2023 Ciara Millerick
George Guilbault Prize (sponsored by Agilent) Ciara Millerick
2024 Poster Winners Name
4th Year Chemistry
1st Prize Phoebe Mackrell
2nd Prize Robyn O’Sullivan
4th Year CPC
1st Prize Chloe Kearney
2nd Prize Stephen Sweetnam
4th Year CFS
1st Prize Emma O’Connor
2nd Prize Danica Kelleher
SCLIS CM3028 Best Poster Winner Rosie Deasy & Isabel Cahill

School of Chemistry

Scoil na Ceimic

Second Floor, Kane Building, University College Cork, T12 YN60