People

About Us


UCC Sport includes the full-time staff of the Department of Sport and Physical Activity working with the Clubs Executive Committee representing over 50 clubs within University College Cork. For more details, please download our UCC Sports Strategy.


Watch Video

This Department of Sport and Physical Activity has dedicated staff to help and support our UCC sports clubs, student athletes and volunteers.

Sport Management Team

Title Name Contact
Head of Sport Morgan Buckley morgan.buckley@ucc.ie 
Deputy Head of Sport Christine O'Donovan c.odonovan@ucc.ie 
Sports Administrator Emma Martin emma.martin@ucc.ie 
Performance Manager Jeff Gomez j.gomez@ucc.ie 
Exercise Physiologist Trevor Woods t.woods@ucc.ie 

Sports Development Officers

Title Name Contact
Football Development Officer (men's and women's soccer) Greg Yelverton g.yelverton@ucc.ie 
GAA Development Officer (Football, Hurling, Ladies Football, Camogie and Handball)  John Grainger j.grainger@ucc.ie 
Hockey Development Officer (men's and women's) Paudie Hartnett p.hartnett@ucc.ie 
Rugby Development Officer (men's and women's) Jack Casey j.casey@ucc.ie 

Administration Support

All queries should be directed to sport@ucc.ie

Title Name Contact
Senior Executive Assistant Betty Young b.young@ucc.ie 
Senior Exectuive Assistant Maura O'Leary maura.oleary@ucc.ie 

Sports Operatives

Based at the Farm and Mardyke Sports Grounds

087-9132084 (Farm) or 087-9132071 (Mardyke)

Title Name Contact
Sports Operative Foreman Willie Fahy  087-9265991
Sports Operative Ken McCarthy 087-9132084 (Farm) or 087-9132071 (Mardyke) 
Sports Operative Ken Young 087-9132084 (Farm) or 087-9132071 (Mardyke)
Sports Operative Noel McSweeney 087-9132084 (Farm) or 087-9132071 (Mardyke)
Sports Operative  Shane Cournane  087-9132084 (Farm) or 087-9132071 (Mardyke) 

Sports Leadership Team

The Sport leadership Team was established to oversee and report on the implementation of the UCC Sports Strategy.  The key purpose of the group led by an Independent Chairperson is to:

  • Develop an implementation plan for the UCC Sports Strategy (including an implementation plan for each functional area), which shall be submitted to the Deputy President and Registrar for approval, and monitor implementation of that plan
  • Ensure co-ordination, reporting, and accountability for plans and programmes related to the Strategy, and Sport & Physical Activity
  • Review strategic business and facility plans of the strands within UCC Sport & Physical Activity to ensure alignment to the Strategy and receive periodic reports from each strand
  • Oversee the development of a joint operational model between the Department of Sport and Physical Activity, Mardyke Arena, Sports Studies and UCC Clubs to deliver on functional areas of the Strategy, with key principles established in a service level agreement framework
  • Oversee the development of a facilities operational model for UCC Sport & Physical Activity in the context of the development of the University’s sports facilities master plan
  • Oversee the development of a co-ordinated approach to marketing, commercial activity, and branding, in order to build a common approach on the UCC Sport brand, raising profile, partnerships and commercial opportunities for UCC Sport and Physical Activity

 

Composition

  • Chairperson: David Merriman

Members

  • Keith Burke
  • Fiona Chambers
  • Patsy Ryan
  • Clubs Executive President
  • SU President
  • Denis Sheehan
  • Barbara-Anne Richardson
  • Morgan Buckley

Department of Sport & Physical Activity

Spórt UCC

Ferry Lodge, Mardyke Walk, T12 P282

Top