Staff at Department of Physiology

There are currently eleven full-time academic staff in the Department of Physiology working together with a committed 
team of administrative and technical staff to ensure efficient and robust delivery of teaching and research programmes.

Academic Staff

Prof Ken O'Halloran BSc, PhD

Dr Fionnuala Ni Chiardha MD

Dr Patrick Harrison BSc, PhD

Dr Ahmad Ahmeda PhD, MBChB

Dr. John Mackrill BSc, PhD

Dr. Therese Ruane-O'Hora BSc, PhD, RGN

Dr Vincent Healy BSC, PhD

Dr Gordon Reid BSc, PhD

Dr Farouk Hazim Markos BSc, PhD

Dr Mark Rae PhD, BSc

Dr Dervla O'Malley PhD

Prof Edward James Johns BSc, PhD, DSc

Dr H. M. Snow

Dr Mohammed Abdulla

Dr Julie O'Neill BSc, PhD

Dr Eric Lucking BSc, Phd



Administrative Staff

Name: Mrs Nora O'Donovan

Position: Senior Executive Assistant

Tel: 00353 (0)21 4205866

Email: /

Job Share (0.5 FTE)

Name: Ms N. Redmond

Position: Senior Executive Assistant

Tel: 353 (0)21 4205866

Email: /

Job Share (0.5 FTE)

Technical Staff

‌Name: Mr K. Mc Donnell

Position: Senior Technical Officer

Tel: 00353 (0)21 4205868


‌Name: Mr T Mulviihill

Position: Senior Technical Officer

Tel: 353 (0)21 4205873


Name: Ms M. O Sullivan MSc

Position: Senior Technical Officer

Tel: 353 (0)21 4205868


Name: Dr Marcella Burke

Position: Technical Officer

Tel : 353(0)214205347

‌Name: Dr Greg Jasionek

Position: Senior Technical Officer

Tel: 353 (0)21 4205870


Name : Ms J. Maguire

Position : Senior Laboratory Assistant

Tel : 353(0) 214205867


Postgraduate Students


Student Surname Student Forename Lead Department E- mail-Phone
Barry Alison Physiology
Barry Elaine Fiana Physiology
Burns David Patrick Physiology
Carey Ruth Anne Physiology
Drummond Sarah Elizabeth Physiology
Kaar Aidan Physiology
Mention Karen Physiology
Morley Shane Jeremiah EMBO 5430
O'Brien Rebecca Physiology
O Connor Karen Mairead Physiology & Anatomy
Wright Fergus Hugh Physiology 1405/1401
Baclaocos  Janinah  Biochem. & Cell Biology 1405
O'Leary Andrew James Physiology
Murphy Kevin Physiology
Thomas Sonia Michelle Physiology  
Jaisimha Anirudh Pharmacol. & Theurapeutics 5430


Research Fellows

Kader Cavusogludoran 0214205866
Dr Mohammed Abdulla 0214205877
Dr Maria Buckley 0214205487
Dr David Sanz 021 490 1401(lab) 021 490 1403 (office)
Dr Limian Zheng 0214901401(lab)021 4901403(office)
O'Neill, Julie (Physiology) 0214205866

Lucking, Eric               >;            0214205866

Physiology Department

Western Gateway Building Western Road University College Cork