Staff Awards

President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2021

President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2021

President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching

University College Cork is committed to excellence in education and the Teaching Excellence Awards scheme at UCC is the longest-established scheme of its kind in Ireland. These awards recognise staff who have made an outstanding contribution in the pursuit of teaching excellence through innovative and creative forms of teaching, learning and assessment. In particular, the purpose of the awards is to encourage work that is designed and carried out to improve student learning and student outcomes, which can include course design and implementation and/or research and enquiry into teaching, learning and assessment. 

Excellence in teaching can be demonstrated in many ways, and there are very many examples of excellent teaching in University College Cork. A variety of criteria are used to assess excellence in teaching including ability to engage students and improve student learning, the use of innovative pedagogies and technologies, research of teaching and assessment approaches and dissemination of good practice in teaching.

The award scheme is open to all UCC staff who teach or support teaching including academic staff, support staff, administrative staff, research staff, technical staff, postgraduate tutors and demonstrators. Staff may be nominated for an award through self-nomination or nomination by students, colleagues/peers or alumni.

Applications for 2022 are now open and the Awards Ceremony will be held at 5.30PM, 7th December, Aula Maxima

Teaching Excellence Award App Form 2022 

Teaching Excellence Awards Nomination Form 2022

Teaching Excellence Award Testimonial Form 2022

Teaching Excellence Awards Guidelines 2022



Office of the VP for Learning and Teaching

Oifig an Leasuachtaráin Foghlama agus Teagaisc

East Wing, Main Quadrangle, UCC