Achievement Awards 21

School of Nursing and Midwifery, UCC Achievement Awards 2021

UCC’s School of Nursing and Midwifery Annual Achievement Awards took place virtually again this year between International Day of the Nurse and International Day of the Midwife on May 7th . The Awards can be viewed here. This was the second online version of the School of Nursing and Midwifery Annual Achievement Awards and was a celebratory occasion marking the valiant efforts of students who have exhibited excellence in all aspects of university life and acknowledged students and healthcare workers who have made broader societal contributions. Winners were selected based on their exemplary performance in the 2019/2020 academic year. UCC’s Interim President, Professor John O'Halloran launched the momentous awards ceremony this year. Also included was a special message from previous award winner, student and International sprint athlete Ms. Phil Healy.

The Awards took place virtually again thi syear due to current lockdown restrictions and in these unprecedented times of Covid-19 when numerous UCC student nurses and midwives are courageously assisting within the health services. The School of Nursing and Midwifery, UCC has worked closely with the HSE on a number of areas to ensure our health service is supported.

Professor Josephine Hegarty, Head of the School of Nursing and Midwifery commented on the Awards,

‘’Our frontline health workers have inspired us all in this apprehensive period and our nursing and midwifery students have shown both dedication and resilience. While we cannot hold a physical Awards ceremony we are delighted to have a virtual Awards ceremony celebrating outstanding student nurses and midwives over the past year.’’

Here are some of the receiptients comments on getting their award.

The categories of Awards and the Awardees for the School of Nursing and Midwifery Annual Achievement Awards 2021 are as follows:

The Undergraduate Student of the Year - Andrew Hawkins

The Postgraduate Student of the Year - Yanqing Yang

Student Leader of the Year - Dean Murray Cantwell

The Award for Outstanding Contribution to Student Life - Katie Curtin

Award for Recognition in Sport - Frances O' Connell

Community Engagement - Frances Lehane 

Recoignition in Arts & Entertainment - Aoife McCarthy

Preceptor of the Year - Helena McCallum 

Best Clinical & Quality Environment - Local Injury Unit (LIU), Mallow General Hospital

The annual Patricia J. Power Excellence in Clinical Practice Award - Phyllis Cremin

Keady Clifford Excellence in Children’s Nursing Award - Mary Dwan

School of Nursing and Midwifery

Scoil an Altranais agus an Chnáimhseachais

Brookfield Health Sciences Complex College Road Cork, Ireland , T12 AK54