People

Energy Engineering People

Energy Engineering People

Academic Staff

Professors

Professor Gregorio Iglesias
Professor of Marine Renewable Energy
School of Engineering and Architecture
University College Cork

Email: gregorio.iglesias@ucc.ie 
Phone: +353 (0)21 4902523

Hon. Professor of Coastal Engineering
School of Engineering
University of Plymouth

Google Scholar
https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=KCxVrFIAAAAJ&hl=en&oi=ao

Energy (Elsevier) - Subject Editor
https://www.journals.elsevier.com/energy

Wave and Tidal Energy (Wiley)

https://www.wiley.com/en-ie/Wave+and+Tidal+Energy-p-9781119014447

Recent paper:

A Data-Driven Long-Term Metocean Data Forecasting Approach for the Design of Marine Renewable Energy Systems

https://authors.elsevier.com/sd/article/S1364-0321(22)00637-2

 

Prof. Jerry Murphy. Professor of Civil Engineering and Director, MaREI Centre Vice-Director of UCC's Environmental Research Institute. 

Research Area: Biofuels & Bioenergy.

Email: jerry.murphy@ucc.ie

Tel: +353 (0)21 490 2286 

 

Prof. Hannah E. Daly, 

Lecturer in Sustainable Energy 

Research Area: Sustainable Energy Syxtems

https://research.ucc.ie/profiles/D021/h.daly@ucc.ie  

Email h.daly@ucc.ie

Senior Lecturers

Dr. Richard Kavanagh. Senior Lecturer in Electrical & Electronic Engineering.

Research Area: Mechatronics, robotics, reliability in energy engineering.

Email: r.kavanagh@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2827 

Lecturers 

Dr Paul Deane Senior Lecturer in Clean Energy Futures.

Research Area: Renewables, Electricity, Energy Modelling, Climate and Energy Policy.

Email: jp.deane@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 1959
 

Dr. John Hayes. Lecturer in Electrical & Electronic Engineering.

Research Area: Power Electronics, Machines and Magnetics for Automotive and Energy Systems

Email: john.hayes@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 3796

Dr. Paul Leahy. Science Foundation Ireland Lecturer in Wind Energy Engineering.

Research Area: Wind Energy

Email: paul.leahy@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2017

 

Dr. Dominic O'Sullivan. Lecturer in Civil & Environmental Engineering.

Research Area: Energy Efficient Buildings & Systems.

Email: dominic.osullivan@ucc.ie

Tel: +353-(0)21-420-5134

 

 

Technical & Administrative Staff

Technical Officer. 

Anthony o'flaherty (fluid mechanics laboratory).

Administrative Staff

Jennifer Barry

jennifer_barry@ucc.ie

Tel: 021 490 3980

 

Postdoctoral Fellows

Post Doctoral Fellows

Dr. Sara Armstrong - Dynamic Modelling of Wave Energy Convertors in Power Systems

E: s.armstrong@ucc.ie 
T: +353 21 4250040

 

Dr. Gordon Dalton - Economic Assessment of Wave Energy Convertors

E: g.dalton@ucc.ie
T: +353 21 4250028
 

Dr. Paul Deane - Energy and Power systems modelling, Energy Economics and Policy, Energy storage and Wind Resource Assessment.

E: jp.deane@ucc.ie
T: +353 21 4901959
 
Dr Fionn Rogan - Climate technology; technology evaluation; innovation systems; energy systems modelling; energy policy; ex-post analysis of energy policies 
 
E: f.rogan@ucc.ie
T: +353 21 4205282 

Dr. Anne Marie O'Hagan - Law, policy & environmental aspects of wave energy

E: A.OHagan@ucc.ie
T: +353 21 425 0015 

Dr. Wanan Sheng - Hydrodynamics in Ocean Energy Development

E: w.sheng@ucc.ie
T: +353 21 4250038

Awards and Distinctions

Science Foundation Ireland MaREI Research Centre Award

Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) has recently funded a €25 million Centre for Marine Renewable Energy Ireland (MaREI).  The Centre is a cluster of key university and industrial partners dedicated to solving the main scientific, technical and socio-economic challenges related to ocean energy.  MaREI will be based in UCC and will be shared between third-level institutions in Cork, Dublin, Galway, Limerick and Maynooth.

Energy Engineering

School of Engineering Office, Electrical Engineering Building, UCC, College Road, Cork.

Top