People

Energy Engineering People

Energy Engineering People

Academic Staff

Professors

 

Prof. Tony Lewis. Emeritus Professor of Energy Engineering.

Research Area: Wave Energy; Offshore & Coastal Engineering

Email: t.lewis@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 4250021

 

Prof. Karsten Menzel. Professor of Information Technology in Architecture, Engineering & Construction.

Research Areas: ICT for Sustainable & Optimised Building Operations; Control and Automation Management of Buildings.

Email:  k.menzel@ucc.ie

Tel: +353 (0)21 420 5402

 

Prof. Nabeel A. Riza.  Chair Professor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Head of School of Engineering.

Research Areas: Energy Efficient Optical Wireless, Sensors for Extreme Temperatures in Power Plants.

Email: n.riza@ucc.ie

Tel: +353 (0)21 490 2214


Prof. Jerry Murphy
. Professor of Bioenergy & Biofuels

Research Area: Biofuels & Bioenergy.

Email: jerry.murphy@ucc.ie

Tel: +353 (0)21 490 2286


Prof. Brian O Gallachoir
. Professor of Energy Policy and Modelling

Research Area: Energy Systems Modelling, Energy Policy.

Email: b.ogallachoir@ucc.ie

Tel: +353-(0)21-490-3037 / +353-(0)21-490-1954

 

Senior Lecturers

Dr. John Fitzpatrick. Senior Lecturer in Process & Chemical Engineering.

Research Area: Applications and energy saving potential of superheated steam drying, wustainable Process Engineering: - Energy from biomass.

Email: j.fitzpatrick@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 4903089

 

Dr. Richard Kavanagh. Senior Lecturer in Electrical & Electronic Engineering.

Research Area: Mechatronics, robotics, reliability in energy engineering.

Email: r.kavanagh@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2827

 

Dr. Gordon Lightbody. Senior Lecturer in Electrical & Electronic Engineering.

Research Area: Control Systems

Email: g.lightbody@ucc.ie 

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2255

 

Dr. Eamon McKeogh. Senior Lecturer in Civil & Environmental Engineering.

Research Area: Renewable Energy, Environmental Fluid Mechanics.

Email: e.mckeogh@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2524
 

Dr. Edmond Byrne. Lecturer in Process & Chemical Engineering.

Research Area: Process Sustainability, Chemical Engineering Education, Particulate Systems Engineering.

Email: e.byrne@ucc.ie

Tel: +353 (0)21 490 3094

 

Lecturers 

Dr. Maria J. Sousa Gallagher. Lecturer in Process & Chemical Engineering.

Research Area: Mathematical modelling of food systems, Quality by Design for Food/ BioPharmaceutical Systems.

Email: m.desousagallagher@ucc.ie

Tel: +353 (0)21 490 3594

 

Dr. John Hayes. Lecturer in Electrical & Electronic Engineering.

Research Area: Power Electronics, Machines and Magnetics for Automotive and Energy Systems

Email: john.hayes@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 3796

 

Dr. Paul Leahy. Science Foundation Ireland Lecturer in Wind Energy Engineering.

Research Area: Wind Energy

Email: paul.leahy@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2017

 

Dr. Dominic O'Sullivan. Lecturer in Civil & Environmental Engineering.

Research Area: Energy Efficient Buildings & Systems.

Email: dominic.osullivan@ucc.ie

Tel: +353-(0)21-420-5134

 

 

Technical & Administrative Staff

Technical Officers

Mr. Anthony O'Flaherty (Fluid Mechanics Laboratory).

Administrative Staff

Ms. Julie Holland (BE Energy)

Ms. Sheila Kenny (MEngSc Sustainable Energy; MEngSc Marine Renewable Energy)

Postdoctoral Fellows

Post Doctoral Fellows

Dr. Sara Armstrong - Dynamic Modelling of Wave Energy Convertors in Power Systems

E: s.armstrong@ucc.ie 
T: +353 21 4250040

 

Dr. Gordon Dalton - Economic Assessment of Wave Energy Convertors

E: g.dalton@ucc.ie
T: +353 21 4250028
 

Dr. Paul Deane - Energy and Power systems modelling, Energy Economics and Policy, Energy storage and Wind Resource Assessment.

E: jp.deane@ucc.ie
T: +353 21 4901959

 

Dr. Anne Marie O'Hagan - Law, policy & environmental aspects of wave energy

E: A.OHagan@ucc.ie
T: +353 21 425 0015

 

Dr. Wanan Sheng - Hydrodynamics in Ocean Energy Development

E: w.sheng@ucc.ie
T: +353 21 4250038

Postgraduate Students

Research Staff

Hydraulics & Maritime Research Centre Research Staff.

Energy Policy & Modelling Group Research Staff.

Beaufort Research Staff in Sustainable Energy.

Awards and Distinctions

Science Foundation Ireland MaREI Research Centre Award

Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) has recently funded a €25 million Centre for Marine Renewable Energy Ireland (MaREI).  The Centre is a cluster of key university and industrial partners dedicated to solving the main scientific, technical and socio-economic challenges related to ocean energy.  MaREI will be based in UCC and will be shared between third-level institutions in Cork, Dublin, Galway, Limerick and Maynooth.

School of Engineering Open Day

Energy Engineering

School of Engineering Office, Electrical Engineering Building, UCC, College Road, Cork.

Top