Student Prizes

Delap Prize for Postgraduate Research

Terms of Reference

1. The Delap Prize is named after Maude Delap, an Irish marine biologist who was the first person to observe and describe the full life cycle of jellyfish (

2. The prize is awarded to the best peer-reviewed academic paper (including review papers) accepted for publication in a given academic year (1st September-31st August) by a registered/recently graduated postgraduate student.

3. Students are eligible to apply for the prize up to 12 months after receiving their postgraduate qualification.

4. Applicants must clearly be the first/principal author of the publication and have the School of BEES as their primary affiliated institution.

5. The prize will be awarded at three levels:
Gold - €900, Silver - €700, Bronze - €500

6. Each applicant will be required to submit a digital (ideally PDF) copy of their research paper and a short statement (Max. 200 word) outlining the potential impact of the published research. They will also be required to present evidence confirming that their work has been accepted for publication and an additional short statement (Max. 100 words) outlining their specific contribution to the paper. Applications are sent by e-mail to the Chair of the GSC and must be received before the announced deadline.

7. Judging for the awards will be carried out by a panel of five BEES staff members drawn from all disciplines within the School that will include the HOS and the Chair of the GSC. The Chair of the GSC will chair the judging panel and will select School staff appropriate for the topic range of research papers submitted. Panel membership selection will be very sensitive to any potential conflict of interest between panel members and applicants.

8. The judging criteria for the award will include:
(i) The ranking of publishing journal within the relevant discipline
(ii) The overall impact of published research

9. Prize winners will be required to give a short (15 minutes) presentation to the School at a dedicated Delap Prize Seminar event at the end of Semester 1 in the year of the award.

School Prizes (Undergraduate)

The School of BEES awards a number of undergraduate academic prizes on an annual basis. Although the prizes awarded are subject to change, the prizes awarded in 2018 were:



Lord Mayor’s Perpetual Trophy

Awarded to the top ranking  Environmental Science graduate on first attempt

Environmental Science

Savills Prize

Awarded to the top ranking Environmental Science student in 3rd year on first attempt

Environmental Science

Butler Prize

Awarded to the top ranking Plant Science graduate on first attempt

Plant Science

Mulcahy Prize

Terms of ref below



O’Rourke Prize

Awarded to the top ranking Zoology student in third year on first attempt


Crawford Hayes Prize

Awarded to the top ranking Ecology graduate on first attempt


Rising Star Award

Awarded to the most improved BEES student from Year 2 to Year 3



Nichol Prize

Awarded to the top ranking Geology research project on first attempt



About the undergraduate prizes:
The Mulcahy Prize is awarded in honour of Prof. Maire Mulcahy, Emerita Professor of Zoology at UCC and the first female Professor of Zoology at the university.
The Butler Prize is presented in honour of Sir Edwin John Butler, UCC graduate, noted plant pathologist and founding director of the Imperial Bureau of Mycology.

The Nichol Prize is awarded in honour of Professor James Nichol, the first Professor of Geology at University College Cork from 1849-1853.
The O'Rourke Prize is awarded in honour of Prof. Fergus O'Rourke who served as Chair of Zoology at University College Cork from 1954 to 1982.

The Crawford Hayes Prize is presented in honour of Thomas Crawford Hayes. In 1922 Miss Isabelle Hayes bequeathed £27,600 to the National University of Ireland, in memory of her late brother Dr Thomas Crawford Hayes, for the purpose of "founding or aiding a Chair of Biology in the University and also for the furtherance and promotion of natural knowledge".

School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences

An Scoil Eolaíochtaí Bitheolaíocha, Domhaneolaíocha agus Comhshaoil

University College Cork, Distillery Fields, North Mall, Cork, Ireland T23 N73K