Awards and Scholarships

Awards and Scholarships

Awards and Scholarships

UCC Undergraduate Awards and Scholarships

A number of awards and scholarships are awarded to UCC medical students each year based on student performance.

More Details

National Awards and Scholarships

Henry Hutchinson Stewart Scholarships

Each year, UCC medical students perform extremely well in the Henry Hutchinson Stewart NUI Scholarship Awards.

Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart was born in Wicklow in 1799, the son of a clergyman. In 1829 he obtained the licence of the Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland and MD of Edinburgh. In 1888, a bequest was received by Trinity College, Dublin and the Royal University of Ireland, from the estate of Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart, for the establishment of Medical and Literary Scholarships. On the dissolution of the Royal University, its share of the Trust was allocated equally between the Queen's University of Belfast and the National University of Ireland.

Under the terms of the trust it is further provided that two-thirds of the income be allocated for the provision of medical scholarships and one-third for the provision of literary scholarships. The recipients of the Medical Scholarships and Prizes are determined by an agreed extern examiner in each subject.


UCC HHS Awardees 2014

Anaesthesia: Brian Daly (Third)

Anatomy: Edmond Patrick Morrissey (Second)

General Practice: Rory Crotty (2nd), Amanda Kaye (Third)

Obstetrics and Gynaecology: Ita Shanahan (Third)

Medical Microbiology: Fiona Doyle (Third)

Medicine: Brian Hanley (First), Sadhbh Hurley (Third)

Ophthalmology: Karen Curtin (Second)

Paediatrics: Leanne Cussen (First)

Pathology: Stephen O’Brien (Second)

Pharmacology: Timothy O’Brien (First)

Physiology: Sean Whelan (First)

Psychiatry: Catherine O’Mahoney (Second), Jane Cudmore (Third)

Public Health: Jenny Stokes (Second), Michael Hanrahan (Third)

Surgery: Bronwyn Power (First), Sadhbh Hurley (Commendation)


HH Stewart Awards 2013

First Place

Biochemistry - Dennis Hopkinson; Pharmacology - Francis Delaney; Physiology -Siobhan Rafferty; General Practice - Patrick Mitchell;   Ophthalmology - Ming Yong Lee;   Medicine - Sheila McSweeney;  Paediatrics - Karen McCarthy;              Surgery - Helen O’Brien.

Second Place

Gynaecology and Obstetrics - Aoife Hurley; Clinical Radiology -Anne Mary O’Mahony; Medical Microbiology - Kieran Reddy; Medicine - Orla Houlihan; Paediatrics - Daniel Crowley; Physiology - Alexandra Britto.

Third place

Biochemistry -David Vaughan; Pathology - Laura Corkery;  Pharmacology - Kieran Mullins

School of Medicine

Scoil an Leighis

Room 2.59, T12 AK54