Skip to main content

About Us

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology's aim is to lead the development of teaching and research in obstetrics and gynaecology in Ireland and to become a centre of excellence internationally.  This academic agenda is fully integrated with the delivery of clinical care in the Ireland South Women & Infants Directorate - a network of four maternity hospitals and units in the south of Ireland – Cork University Maternity Hospital, University Hospital Kerry, Tipperary University Hospital and University Hospital Waterford. 

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology in UCC provides a framework for education, training, research and innovation across this Directorate.

The Department is also one of the oldest Departments in University College Cork. There has been a Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at UCC since 1849.

Professors of Obstetrics and Gyneacology at UCC Dates                
J.R. Harvey                                          1849 – 1878
Henry Macnaughton-Jones                 1878 – 1883
Henry Corby                                        1883 – 1924
J.J. Kearney                                         1926 – 1948
William Kearney                                   1949 – 1977
David M. Jenkins                                 1977 – 1999
John R. Higgins                                    2001 – present  

Research & Innovation in Gynaecological Surgery

The Centre for Research and Innovation in Gynaecological Surgery is dedicated to all aspects of research and innovation in gynaecological surgery

Directors: Dr Matt Hewitt and Professor Barry O’Reilly

Find Out More

Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

An Roinn Obstatraice agus Gínéiceolaíochta

Cork University Maternity Hospital, 5th Floor, Wilton, Cork, Ireland