People

People

People

Academics

Professors

William P. Marnane

D.Phil. Electrical Engineering, University of Oxford

Head of School of Engineering. , Senior Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering, UCC, 

Research Area: Biomedical Signal Processing and digital design for DSP, coding and cryptography

Email: l.marnane@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2041

Fax: +353(0)21 427 1698

 

Nabeel A. Riza

Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, California Institute of Technology (Caltech)

Chair Professor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Area: Photonics

Email: n.riza@ucc.ie

Tel: +353 (0)21 490 2214

Fax: +353 (0)21 427 1698

Peter J. Parbrook

Ph.D. Physics, University of Strathclyde

Stokes Professor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Academic Member, Tyndall National Institute

Research Area: III-Nitride Materials and Devices

Email: p.parbrook@ucc.ie

Tel: +353 (0)21 490 4365

Fax: +353 (0)21 490 4454

  

UCC Research Professors 

Cian O'Mathuna

Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, University College Cork

Research Professor in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Area: Microsystems

Email: cian.omathuna@tyndall.ie

Tel: +353 (0)21 490 4350

Fax: 

  

Senior Lecturers 

Richard Kavanagh

Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, UCC

Senior Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Area: Mechatronics and robotics

Email: r.kavanagh@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2827

Fax: +353(0)21 427 1698

 

Gordon Lightbody

Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, Queen’s University Belfast

Senior Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Area: Control Systems

Email: g.lightbody@ucc.ie 

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2255

Fax: +353(0)21 427 1698 

 

Alan P. Morrison

Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, UCC

Senior Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Area: Photonics and Quantum Electronics

Email: a.morrison@ucc.ie

Tel: +353 (0)21 490 2874

Fax: +353 (0)21 427 1698

 

William M. D. Wright

Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, University of Warwick

Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

Research Area: Ultrasonics

Email: bill.wright@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2213

 

Lecturers

Barry Hayes

PhD Electrical Power Systems, University of Edinburgh

Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Area: Power Systems, Electrical Power Distribution & Utilisation

mail: barry.hayes@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2147

 

Padraig Cantillon-Murphy

Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Area: Clinical application of electromagnetic, Biomedical devices, Minimally-invasive surgery, Guidance in surgery

Email: p.cantillonmurphy@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 3727

Fax: +353(0)21 427 1698

 

Guangbo Hao

PhD in Mechanical Engineering, Heriot-Watt University

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

Research Area: Compliant parallel manipulators

Email: g.hao@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 3793

Fax: +353(0)21 427 1698

 

John G. Hayes

Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, UCC

Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Area: Power Electronics, Machines and Magnetics for Automotive and Energy Systems

Email: john.hayes@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 3796

Fax: +353(0)21 427 1698

 

Kevin McCarthy

Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, UCC

Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Area: RF/Microwave Design and Characterization, IC Component Characterization, Integrated Power Electronics, Telecommunications

Email: k.mccarthy@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0)21 490 2072

Fax: +353(0)21 427 1698

 

Colin Murphy

Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, UCC

Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Area: Digital Communications

Email: cmurphy@rennes.ucc.ie 

Tel: +353 (0)21 490 2196

Fax: +353(0)21 427 1698

 

Emanuel M. Popovici

Ph.D. Microelectronic Engineering, UCC

Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Research Area: Embedded Systems

Email: e.popovici@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0) 21 490 2027

Fax: +353(0) 21 427 1698

 

 

 

Administrative, Technical and Support Staff

Administrative Staff

Niamh O'Sullivan

B.Soc.Sc., University College Cork, H.Dip. Personnel Managment, University College Cork 

Executive Assistant

Email: ni.osullivan@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0) 21 490 2923

Fax: +353(0) 21 427 1698

   

Technical Staff

Hilary Mansfield

BSc (Hons) Applied Physics and Instrumentation, Cork Institute of Technology

Chief Technical Officer, Control Laboratory

Email: h.mansfield@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0) 21 490 2620

Fax: +353(0) 21 427 1698

 

Michael O’Shea

HND Mechanical Engineering, Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen

Chief Technical Officer, Mechanical Workshop

Email: mike.oshea@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0) 21 490 2219

Fax: +353(0) 21 427 1698

 

Gerard Hooton

BSc Information Technology, Dublin City University

Senior Technical Officer, Development Laboratory

Email: g.hooton@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0) 21 490 2296

Fax: +353(0) 21 427 1698

 

Timothy Power

M.Eng.Sc. Mechanical Engineering, UCC

Senior Technical Officer, Mechanical Workshop

Email: t.power@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0) 21 490 2219

Fax: +353(0) 21 427 1698

 

James Griffiths

M.Eng.Sc., UCC

Senior Technical Officer, Power Laboratory

Email: j.griffiths@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0) 21 490 2216

Fax: +353(0) 21 427 1698

  

Support Staff

Ralph O’Flaherty

Operative

Email: r.oflaherty@ucc.ie

Tel: +353(0) 21 490 2218

Fax: +353(0) 21 427 1698

 

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Innealtóireacht Leictreach agus Leictreonach

University College Cork, College Road, Cork, Ireland

Top