News and Views

College of Business and Law Research Awards

17 Jan 2024
College Research Award Recipients pictured at College Assembly December 2023: (front l-r) Dr Tracey Bradfield, Dr Geraldine Ryan, Head of College Professor Thia Hennessy, Dr Stephen McCarthy, Professor Thomas Garavan; (middle l-r) Professor Justin Doran, Dr Lisa Noonan; (back l-r) Dr Declan Jordan, Dr Jane Bourke, Professor Aoife Daly, CUBS Vice Dean Research and Innovation Professor Mary McCarthy, College Research Manager Dr Sean Lucey.

Recipients of the 2022 College of Business and Law Research Awards were recognised at College Assembly in December convened by Head of College Professor Thia Hennessy.  College Research Manager Dr Sean Lucey announced the awards.  Guest speaker was Professor John Cryan, Vice President for Research and Innovation. 

The Research Awards commenced in 2019 to recognise research excellence and the extensive contributions made by College Researchers.  The award are made to researchers who have made exceptional and very influential reserach contributions, enhanced knowledge, and raised the national and international research profile of the College. 

The College recognises researchers in the following categories:  Early Career, Mid-Career, and Advanced Research.  It also recognises Team Research.  This year, the College introduced a Postgraduate Researcher of the Year Award. 

The successful College Awardees for 2022 are:

Professor Thomas GaravanResearcher of the Year  (Advanced Career)

Professor Aoife DalyResearcher of the Year (Mid-Career)

Dr Stephen McCarthyResearcher of the Year ( Early Career)

Spatial and Regional Economics Research CentreResearch Team of the Year 

Dr Conor O'Driscoll, Postgraduate Researcher of the Year

Congratulations are extended to all the award recipients, as well as best wishes for continued career success.







College of Business and Law

Coláiste an Ghnó agus an Dlí

3rd Floor, O' Rahilly Building, University College Cork