Critical Social Thinking Journal and Conference


The Critical Social Thinking Student Research Initiative was established in 2008 by the School of Applied Social Studies with the assistance of funding from NAIRTL.  Its purpose is to showcase the high quality academic work undertaken by undergraduate and postgraduate students within our School and to use this as a platform for stimulating interest in social research and to promote student research activity in a public domain. We are proud to exhibit these examples of students' original research and we hope that this initiative provides a forum for critical reflection on the diversity of issues addressed in their academic work. The first event in our history was the publication of Critical Social Thinking, Vol. 1, in 2009, which comprised articles written by recent graduates and postgraduates from the School of Applied Social Studies. Since then, we have sought to further develop and build on our activities, which include:

  • The publication of Critical Social Thinking, Vol. 2 (2010);
  • The CST Student Research Awards, which granted research bursaries to five Applied Social Studies students in 2010;
  • The establishment of the Critical Social Thinking Student Conference on the 29th January 2010 and the publication of the 1st Annual Critical Social Thinking Conference Proceedings in book and e-book format.
  • The publication of Critical Social Thinking, Vol. 3 (2011).
  • The 2nd Annual Critical Social Thinking conference, 2011, which was launched by Irish author and political commentator, Fintan O'Toole, and attended by 250 students and staff, and the publication of the Conference Proceedings (2011) .  We broadened the scope of the initiative in 2011 by inviting student researchers from outside the School of Applied Social Studies. 
  • Critical Social Thinking 2012:  This includes the Critical Social Thinking 3rd Annual Conference, which was held on the 30th November, and the publication of (2012).
  • The publication of Critical Social Thinking, Vol. 5 (2013)

Thank you!

This initiative is made possible through the continuing work and encouragement of all of the staff of the School of Applied Social Studies, who participate through their ongoing research supervision of undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral students, through chairing conference sessions, and in reviewing papers and articles for publication. Thank you all for your support.

Editorial Committee 

Ms Eileen Hogan, Dr Eluska Fernandez, Dr Jacqui O'Riordan, Dr Claire Dorrity, and Dr Féilim Ó hAdhmaill

Close X