Skip to main content

Early-Stage Researcher of the Year

This award recognises early career excellence and the potential for future outstanding performance. Nominees considered early-stage researchers are those with no more than ten-year research experience since their PhD. Evidence of eligible interruptions (e.g. maternity leave, parental leave) can be used to extend the eligibility window. For those who have not been awarded a doctoral degree, four years of full-time equivalent research experience may be considered as relevant. Nominations, based on achievements and key research indicators from the calendar year 2023, can be made by any UCC staff member.

Evaluation Criteria


Relevant Achievements

  • Attainment and consistency of high-level achievements for a period appropriate to career stage and award category (for the calendar year 2023).



Research Excellence

  • Innovative thinking.
  • National and International recognition of excellence (peer esteem indicators).
  • Evidence of collaborative engagement with external stakeholders and the community.
  • Published outputs.




  • Encouragement and promotion of young researchers, including postgraduates.
  • Cultural, economic and societal impact of research.
  • Research communication.
  • Interdisciplinary impact.


Previous Winners

Year Awardee College/School/Department/Centre/Institute

Dr Tatiana Vagramenko
Dr Aaron Lim

School of Society, Politics & Ethics
Department of Geography


Dr Jean O'Dwyer
Dr Piotr Kowalski

School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences
School of Pharmacy and APC Microbiome Ireland


Dr Carlos Garrido Castellano
Dr Maria Rodriguez Aburto

School of Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Department of Anatomy & Neuroscience


Dr Gillian Murphy

School of Applied Psychology


Dr Farzan Gity
Dr Carol Kelleher

Tyndall National Institute
Cork University Business School


Dr Gediminas Juska
Dr Pauline Scanlan
Dr Tom Birkett
Dr Justin Doran

Tyndall National Institute
School of Microbiology
School of English
Cork University Business School


Dr Maria Cahill
Dr Cara Levey

School of Law
Department of Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies


Dr Tom Reed

School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences


Dr Vikram Pakrashi
Dr Lynette Keeney

School of Engineering
Tyndall National Institute

Research & Innovation Awards

Gradaim Taighde agus Nuálaíocht

Office of Vice President for Research & Innovation 4th Floor Block E, Food Science Building UCC