Research Support Person of the Year

This award recognises that person (research coordinators, managers, administrators, etc.) who most contributed to the successful execution of research carried out by an individual, project, department, institute or centre in the calendar year 2022. Nominations can be made by any UCC staff member.

How To Apply

To submit a nomination for this award:

  • Download and complete the nomination form.
  • Prepare the supporting documentation.
  • Email all documents to with the award category and the name of the nominee in the subject line.

Nomination Form

Supporting Documentation

Submit as a PDF: CV (max 2 pages) – Nominee’s CV with links to IRIS for full publication and professional information. The document should include:

  • Name and contact details.
  • Career profile (education and employment) & research profile.
  • Mentoring and supervision profile (including numbers of current and completed MSc/PhD students directly under the nominee’s supervision).
  • Key achievements in the calendar year 2022 (including measures of peer esteem, accomplishments, awards, etc.) with a particular focus achievement relevant to applicable award category.

Deadline For Submission

  • Friday 28 April 2023, 5pm.

Evaluation Criteria


Relevant Achievements

  • Attainment and consistency of high-level achievements for a period appropriate to career stage and award category (for the calendar year 2022).



Research Excellence

  • Innovative thinking.
  • National and International recognition of excellence (peer esteem indicators).
  • Evidence of collaborative engagement with external stakeholders and the community.
  • Published outputs.




  • Encouragement and promotion of young researchers, including postgraduates.
  • Cultural, economic and societal impact of research.
  • Research communication.
  • Interdisciplinary impact.

Previous Winners

Year Awardee College/School/Department/Centre

Mr Martin O'Connell
Dr Seán Lucey

IPIC, Tyndall National Institute
College of Business and Law


Dr Louise Burgoyne
Ms Saba Loftus

Tyndall National Institute
APC Microbiome Ireland

Research Awards

Gradaim Taighde

Office of Vice President for Research & Innovation 4th Floor Block E, Food Science Building UCC