Southern Radiology Society

Southern Radiology Society

The Southern Radiology Society (SRS) is a professional society, based in the Munster region which has been in existence since the 1980s, composed of Consultant Radiologists, Specialist Registrars in Radiology, and retired Consultants. The SRS was formed to promote education in Radiology and is committed to excellence in patient care through education and research. It also represents a forum at which new developments in Radiology are discussed, and where collaborations in research and collegiality between Radiologists at the hospitals in the region are fostered. 

The SRS hosts monthly educational meetings for Radiologists from all hospitals in the Munster region at Brookfield Health Sciences Complex in UCC. More than 60 Radiologists are members. The SRS annual academic calendar includes monthly meetings (third Tuesday of each month at 6pm) from October to June, as well as invited lectures from international speakers. At the final SRS meeting of the academic year in June, the Specialist Registrars are invited to present their research and a Gold Medal is awarded for the best research presentation. 

The SRS is affiliated with the Faculty of Radiologists of the RCSI and offers opportunities to earn continuing professional development (CPD) points for attendance and for delivering lectures. Two CPD credits are allocated to attendees per meeting.


Southern Radiology Society Board Members

Chairman: Professor Michael Maher

Secretary: Dr. Pauline Smiddy

Treasurer: Dr. Peter MacEneaney

Executive Officer: Ms. Catherine Murphy

Committee Members: Dr. Owen O'Connor, Dr. David Ryan

Board Members: Dr. Eamonn Carmody, Dr. Eddie Fitzgerald, Dr. Neil O' Donovan, Dr. Pat Sparrow, Dr. Eamonn Bannan

Member Hospitals

Bantry General Hospital, Cork

Bons Secours Hospital, Cork

Bons Secours Hospital, Tralee

Cork University Hospital, Cork

Mallow General Hospital, Cork

Mercy University Hospital, Cork

South Infirmary University Hospital, Cork

University Hospital Kerry, Kerry

South Tipperary General Hospital, Tipperary

University Hospital Waterford, Waterford.

SRS Gold Medal Winners

2019: Dr.Claire Crowley

2018: Dr. Patick Duffy

2017: Dr. Stephen Power

2016; Dr. Nichola Hughes

2015: Dr. Siobhán O' Neill

2014: Dr. Patrick Nicholson

2013: Dr. Patrick Nicholson

2012: Dr. Siobhán O' Neill


Department of Radiology

Room 30, 1st Floor floor, Cork University Hospital, Wilton, Cork,