Skip to main content


Third year Poster Session and Prizegiving Event

29 Nov 2023
Dr David Clarke, Head of School of Microbiology, presenting Best Poster Prize to winning team (L-R) Laura O'Driscoll, Brian Grabe, Aoife Mc Elevey and Eimear Crowley

The North Wing Council room was abuzz with the presentation of posters by 3rd year students who undertook lab-based Module MB3016 Methods in Microbiology. This event is a highlight in the school’s calendar and the Council Room, gallery-esque in its setting, was a fitting backdrop to the fine work on display.

Judges were impressed with the high standard of presentations and the overall winning team was 2b Laura O Driscoll, Brian Grabe, Aoife Mc Elevey and Eimear Crowley for their work entitled, iSOILation: An Investigation Into Bacterial Antibiotic Producers In Irish Soils

This event was coordinated and curated by Carmel Shortiss, supported by Chief Technical Officer, John O’Callaghan and the School of Microbiology technical team.

Some background:

'Antibiotics Unearthed' was inspired by the Small World Initiative™, organised and managed by the Microbiology Society for four very successful years. The School of Microbiology, UCC was chosen as one of the six original participants of this project, which lives on in UCC as a part of the 10-credit Module MB3016 Methods in Microbiology. As part of this module the students experience real research, hoping to find the next new antibiotic from soil. They develop protocols and lead their own research project, experiencing what it is like to be a research microbiologist. This experience is particularly important for students, giving them the opportunity to familiarise themselves with a professional environment and engage with research microbiologists. Teamwork and ability to present scientific results are lifelong skills that the students learn while participating in the project.

The School of Microbiology further marked this occasion by presenting awards to students for their outstanding achievements. Dr David Clarke, head of school, acknowledged and presented awards to Tessa Kelly, in absentia – The Professor Grimes Student Prize 2022/2023, Lucy McCarthy – Tadhg O’Mullane Award for Academic Excellence 2022/2023, presented by his granddaughter Monica O’Mullane. Lucy also received Microbiology Society Undergraduate Microbiology Prize for 2023. Daisy Garde received The Johnson and Johnson Award for Excellence in Biotechnology 2022/2023 and Caoimhe Buckley was awarded The Janssen Bursary 2023/2024.

Second year students were also in attendance and no doubt took some inspiration from the Poster Day and are already thinking of ideas for their project for next year.


L-R Dr David Clarke, Lucy McCarthy, Dr Monica O’Mullane, Marian and Petra O’Mullane

L-R Dr David Clarke, Lucy McCarthy, Dr Monica O’Mullane, Marian and Petra O’Mullane



 L-R Dr David Clarke and Daisy Garde




                                 L-R Dr David Clarke and Daisy Garde



 L-R Dr David Clarke and Caoimhe Buckley








L-R Dr David Clarke and Caoimhe Buckley


School of Microbiology

Scoil na Micribhitheolaíochta

Microbiology Office, Room FSB452, 4th Floor Food Science & Technology Building, University College Cork, Cork T12 Y337