Skip to main content


Professor Tadhg O'Mullane Award for Academic Excellence Gathering

31 Mar 2023
Pictured at the gathering (L-R) Petra, Monica & Stephen O'Mullane, Prize Winner 2021/22 Tessa Kelly & Dr David Clarke, Head of School of Microbiology.

Three generations of the O’Mullane family were delighted to gather in the School of Microbiology to formally launch and present the Professor Tadhg O’Mullane Award for Academic Excellence to Conor O’Callaghan for academic year 2020/21 and Tessa Kelly for academic year 2021/22.


Professor Tadhg O' Mullane's family presented the awards to the prizewinners whose families were also in attendance. Monica & Stephen O'Mullane shared lovely memories and humorous stories about Professor O'Mullane as an academic and a family man. They also expressed their joy at fulfilling their wish to honour his memory through acknowledging the achievements of Third year BSc Microbiology students who receive the highest marks in their examinations.                                         

The School of Microbiology is proud to acknowledge the achievements of its students in this way and celebrate and remember the contribution of one of the founding members of our BSc Microbiology programme. Congratulations to Conor and Tessa and wishing them well in their future study and careers.

For further information on this award: 

The inaugural Professor Tadhg O'Mullane Award for Academic Excellence 2020/21 was presented to Conor O'Callaghan, pictured here with members of Professor O' Mullane's family.

School of Microbiology

Scoil na Micribhitheolaíochta

Microbiology Office, Room FSB452, 4th Floor Food Science & Technology Building, University College Cork, Cork T12 Y337