Skip to main content

Research Award for Open Science

Open Science is the practice of research in such a way that others can collaborate and contribute, where research data, lab notes and other research processes are freely available, under terms that enable reuse, redistribution and reproduction of the research and its underlying data and methods.

The Open Science Monitor framework provides some indicators of openness which include but are not limited to:

  • Posting to pre-print archives.
  • Publishing in open access journals.
  • Archiving publications in repositories.
  • Developing open access journal policies as part of an editorial board.
  • Participating in open peer review.
  • Applying the FAIR Data Guidelines to ensure optimal availability of research data.
  • Development of policies, workshops or infrastructures in support of open science.
  • Establishing citizen science activities to encourage wider engagement with research.
  • Advocating for openness in data and publication sharing.

Taking steps to ensure reproducibility and transparency in research methodologies and in the generation and analysis of data. This award recognises researchers who have embraced the principles of open science in the research process and in the dissemination of their research outputs in the calendar year 2023. Nominations can be made by any UCC staff member.

Evaluation Criteria


Relevant Achievements

  • Attainment and consistency of high-level achievements for a period appropriate to career stage and award category (for the calendar year 2023).



Research Excellence

  • Innovative thinking.
  • National and International recognition of excellence (peer esteem indicators).
  • Evidence of collaborative engagement with external stakeholders and the community.
  • Published outputs.




  • Encouragement and promotion of young researchers, including postgraduates.
  • Cultural, economic and societal impact of research.
  • Research communication.
  • Interdisciplinary impact.


Previous Winners

Year Awardee College/School/Department/Centre
2023 The Scenario Project Department of German and Department of Theatre
2022 Professor Colm O'Dwyer School of Chemistry
2021 Dr Karen Matvienko-Sikar School of Public Health
2020 Giovanni Pietro
James Louis Smith
Department of Italian
School of English and Digital Humanities
2019 Dr Clíona O'Carroll Department of Folklore & Ethnology
2018 Professor Colm O'Dwyer School of Chemistry

Research & Innovation Awards

Gradaim Taighde agus Nuálaíocht

Office of Vice President for Research & Innovation 4th Floor Block E, Food Science Building UCC