Pharmacy Annual Prize-giving Ceremony Friday 26 October 2018

14 Nov 2018

The School of Pharmacy held its 2018 Prize giving ceremony after graduation on Friday 26 October 2018.  Professor Stephen Byrne welcomed both students and their guests to the School and thanked them for supporting the students during their Pharmacy journey.   


A number of prizes were awarded:  

Abbvie Prize for Excellence in Pharmaceutics was presented to three students 

Laura Bernard

Jessica Coyne

Tara McMahon

The Excellence in Systems Modules award was presented to Laura Bernard for her outstanding scores in all of the systems modules combined.  

The Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics Prize for Excellence in Pharmacology also went to Laura Bernard 

The Pharmaceutical Chemistry Prize for Excellence in Pharmaceutical Chemistry was presented to Cillian O’Donovan. 

The Cloyne Care Plus Prize for the most improved student was presented to Catherine Mulcahy. 

The JPA Brenson Lawlor Award for exceptional citizens and future leaders was presented jointly to Jane Lynch and Donncha Fitzgerald and was presented by Eamon McElory on behalf of JPA Brenson Lawlor.  The students were commended for their leadership and determination shown outwith their academic studies in order to enhance the student experience within and outside the university. 

The School also presented an Outstanding Achievement Award to Amy O’Connor who was a Quercus Scholar.  She has won 4 all Ireland camogie medals during her time and is always a great promoter of Pharmacy outside of UCC. 

The gathering was also informed that both Laura Bernard and Janelle Logan were nominated for the National University of Ireland Dr HH Stewart award, the outcome of had not been decided at the time of the presentations. 

Finally the Top of the Class Medal was presented to Laura Bernard.  This award was based on a culmination of the four years of the degree.

School of Pharmacy


Cavanagh Pharmacy Building Room UG06 University College Cork