Skip to main content


School Leadership

Name Role Tel. Email
Prof Brendan Griffin  Head of School +353 (0)21 4901657 
Prof Laura Sahm Vice Dean of School +353 (0)21 4901688 
Dr Katie Ryan Chair of Research & Graduate Studies Committee +353 (0)21 4901680 
Dr Margaret Bermingham Chair of Teaching & Curriculum Development Committee +353 (0)21 4901669 
Dr J J Keating Chair of Student Experience Committee +353 (0)21 4901692 
Prof Abina Crean Chair of Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Committee +353 (0)21 4901667 

Academic Staff

Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacy pleaseÈ

Name Role Tel. Email
Dr Evin Allen Lecturer in Pharmaceutics +353 (0)21 4901676
Dr Teresa Barbosa MSc Clinical Pharmacy course coordinator & Lecturer +353 (0)21 4901792
Dr Lorraine Bateman Lecturer in Pharmaceutical Chemistry +353 (0)21 4901793
Dr Harriet Bennett-Lenane Lecturer in Clinical Pharmaceutics +353 (0)21 4901676 
Dr Margaret Bermingham Senior Lecturer in Clinical Practice +353 (0)21 4901669 
Ms Edel Burton Lecturer in Clinical Pharmaceutics +353 (0)21 4901669  
Prof Stephen Byrne Prof of Clinical Practice +353 (0)21 4902250  
Prof Abina Crean Prof of Pharmaceutics +353 (0)21 4901667 
Dr Kieran Dalton Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacy +353 (0)21 4901676 
Dr Maria Donovan Lecturer in Clinical Practice +353 (0)21 4901789 
Dr Aoife Fleming Senior Lecturer in Clinical Practice +353 (0)21 4901666 
Dr Eoin Fleming Lecturer in Biochemistry +353 (0)21 4901679 
Prof Cormac Gahan Prof of Pharmaceutical Microbiology +353 (0)21 4901363/3101 
Prof Brendan Griffin Head of School / Prof of Pharmaceutics +353 (0)21 4901657 
Dr J J Keating Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Lecturer in Pharm Chemistry +353 (0)21 4901692 
Dr Piotr Kowalski Senior Lecturer in Pharmaceutics +353 (0)21 4901735
Prof Anita Maguire Prof of Pharmaceutical Chemistry / Director ABCRF +353 (0)21 4901693/1694 
Dr Suzanne McCarthy Senior Lecturer in Clinical Practice +353 (0)21 4901714 
Dr Rachel Moloney Lecturer in Pharmacology +353 (0)21 4901779 
Dr Kevin Murphy Lecturer in Clinical Practice +353 (0)21 4901681 
Dr Jatin Nagpal Lecturer in Pharmacology 
Prof Caitriona O'Driscoll Prof of Pharmaceutics +353 (0)21 4901396 
Dr Michelle O'Driscoll Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacy +353 (0)21 4901690 
Dr Patrick O'Dwyer Lecturer in Pharmaceutics +353 (0)21 4901736 
Dr Joey O'Shea Lecturer in Pharmaceutics +353 (0)21 4901665 
Dr Tim O'Sullivan Senior Lecturer in Pharmaceutical Chemistry +353 (0)21 4901655 
Dr Katie Ryan Senior Lecturer in Pharmaceutics +353 (0)21 4901680 
Prof Laura Sahm Prof of Clinical Pharmacy Practice +353 (0)21 4901688 
Dr Sonja Vucen Lecturer in Pharmaceutics +353 (0)21 4901686 
Prof Christian Waeber Prof of Pharmacology +353 (0)21 4901791 


Name Role Tel. Email
Ms Noreen Moynihan School Manager +353 (0)21 4901661 
Ms Beth Buchanan Instructional Designer +353 (0)21 4901735
Ms Ruth McCarthy  Practice Education Co-ordinator +353 (0)21 4901735
Ms Linda McGuire Course Co-Ordinator, MSc Pharmaceutical Technology & Quality Systems +353 (0)21 4901736
Ms Aisha Murphy Senior Executive Assistant +353 (0)21 4901663
Ms Kathleen Williamson Senior Executive Assistant +353 (0)21 4901662 

Technical Staff

Name Role Email
Dr Michael Cronin Chief Technical Officer
Dr. Ken Devine Chief Technical Officer
Dr Fatma Farag Technical Officer
Ms Aine Healy Senior Technical Officer
Dr Alexander Zhdanov Technical Officer

Teacher Practitioners

Lisa Buckley 
Fiona Coulter
Maedhbh Flannery
Eimear Murphy

Research Staff

Name Role Tel. Email
Dr Waleed Faisal Project Manager, Career-FIT Fellow +353 (0)21 4901683
Dr Caroline Blackshields Research Fellow +353 (0)21 4901683
Dr Ziad Sartawi Research Fellow +353 (0)21 4901683
Mr Mohammed Elkhashab Research Assistant +353 (0)21 4901683

PhD Researchers

Meet our PhD researchers

MSc in Clinical Pharmacy contributing practitioners


  • Anne-Marie Tobin, Consultant Dermatologist, Tallaght Hospital, Dublin and Clinical Lead National Clinical Programme in Dermatology, HSE
  • Dr John Waterstone, Waterstone Clinic, Cork
  • Martin Buckley, Consultant Gastroenterologist/Physician at Mercy University Hospital and Senior Lecturer in Clinical Medicine, University College Cork
  • Dr Liam Healy, Clinical Lead for Stroke Services, Cork University Hospital
  • Dr Liam Plant, Clinical Professor in Renal Medicine, Cork University Hospital; Vice Dean for Clinical & Strategic Partnerships, UCC
  • Ms Claire Keane, Pharmacy Department, St. Vincent’s University Hospital, Dublin
  • Dr Brian Sweeney, Neurologist, Cork University Hospital /School of Medicines, University College Cork
  • Ms Shirley Guerin, Senior Pharmacist, National Forensic Mental Health Service, Adjunct Lecturer at UCC School of Pharmacy
  • Ms Derina Byrne, Senior Pharmacist, Mercy University Hospital, Cork
  • Ms Hilary Ward, Lead Oncology Pharmacist, Beacon Hospital, Dublin
  • Dr Maeve Durkan, Endocrinologist, Bon Secours Hospital, Cork
  • Mr Peter Duddy, Pharmacy Department, The Coombe Women’s Hospital, Dublin and Adjunct Lecturer at UCC School of Pharmacy
  • Ms Mala Shah, Chief II Antimicrobial Pharmacist, Community Healthcare, Quality and Patient Safety, Health Service Executive and Adjunct Senior Lecturer at UCC School of Pharmacy
  • Ms Muriel Pate, Chief II Pharmacist HSE Acute Hospitals and Adjunct Lecturer at UCC School of Pharmacy
  • Ms Marie Keane, Critical Care Pharmacist, University Hospital Limerick, Adjunct Clinical Lecturer, School of Pharmacy, UCC
  • Ms Norma Harnedy, National Liaison Pharmacist, HSE Addiction Services Adjunct Lecturer at UCC School of Pharmacy
  • Ms Niamh O’Connell, Pharmacy Department, SIVUH, Cork and Adjunct Lecturer at UCC School of Pharmacy
  • Ms Aileen Barry, Acting Chief Pharmacist, South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital, Cork and Adjunct Lecturer at UCC School of Pharmacy
  • Mr Michael Curtin, Senior Clinical Pharmacist, Children’s Health Ireland (CHI) at Temple Street
  • Mr Barry O’ Sullivan, Senior Manager, Outpatient Pharmacy, Imperial College London Diabetes Centre, Abu Dhabi and Adjunct Lecturer, UCC School of Pharmacy
  • Ms Stephanie Slevin, MPSI, affiliated to the School of Pharmacy, UCC
  • Dr David O’Riordan, Vigilance Assessor at HPRA
  • Ms Meghan Lynch, Chief II Pharmacist, HSE National Drug Treatment Centre
  • Ms Maedhbh Flannery, Senior Pharmacist, Marymount University Hospital and Hospice
  • Dr Kieran Walsh, Deputy Director of Health Technology Assessment at HIQA
  • Ms Sharon Byrne, Senior Pharmacist, Our Lady’s Hospice & Care Services, Harold’s Cross, Dublin
  • Mr Martin Kantchev, MPSI, MSc Clinical Pharmacy, affiliated to the School of Pharmacy, UCC
  • Ms Tessa Cagney, Clinical Pharmacist, Bon Secours Hospital, Cork.
  • Ms Fiona O'Connor, Acting Pharmacy dispensary Manager (Chief 2 Pharmacist) Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, Dublin.

School of Pharmacy


Pharmacy Building Room UG06 University College Cork