Download the larger Heritage display locations map
- Visitors' Centre (Ground Floor, Main Quadrangle): A display of some of UCC's treasures and memorabilia - including the silver University Mace, symbol of the university's authority, carried before the president of UCC in academic processions and displayed at conferring ceremonies; and 'Stories in Stone' in the atmospheric Stone Corrider of UCC's first building. These iconic ogham stones in UCC are documents in stone, perhaps 1,300-1,500 years old and are the earliest written source of the Irish language and Irish personal names. This is the largest collection of ogham stones on open display anywhere. Close by is a small group of carved stones, dating from the Bronze Age to the Middle Ages, illustrating some of the uses to which stone has been put to use by humanity over the last 4,500 years or so.
- Áras na Mac Léinn (Student Centre): A display of some of the beautiful church metalwork associated with the nearby Honan Chapel, known as the "jewel of the Irish arts and crafts movement". Funded by a bequest from a wealthy local merchant family of the same name, this Roman Catholic chapel was opened in 1916. As the motto of the chapel says, it was created "for the glory of God and the honour of Ireland" and contains stunning works of the Irish arts and crafts movement by the very best artists working in Ireland at the time. These include stained glass artist Harry Clarke, silversmith William Egan and the women of the Dún Emer Guild. The Honan Chapel is a working Catholic church and is not UCC property. Please do not disturb worshippers. Visitor access is solely by kind permission of the Honan Trust and may be withdrawn at any time.
- Áras Uí Rathaille (O'Rahilly Building): To one side of the reception area, set back a little, is a stone relief carving showing John Boyd Dunlop, the man who revolutionised transport by inventing the first practical inner tube for car and bicycle wheels. The relief was commisioned by the Dunlop tyre company for their former premises in Cork, and is by the celebrated Irish sculptor Séamus Murphy. On the first floor, over the lobby in the social area, is a display of academic costume, showing the official formal robe worn by presidents of the university, and the traditional everyday gown used by past president, Professor Alfred O'Rahilly.
- Cavanagh Pharmacy Building (College Road entrance lobby): An interesting collection of items and artefacts from an old Cork pharmacy.
- Brookfield Health Sciences Complex (College Road): Inside the original 19th century Brookfield House is the Health Sciences Library, outisde the doors of which are two cast bronze sculptures, 'Bob and Joan', by distinguished Cork sculptor Séamus Murphy. These are modelled after the original early 18th century much larger figures that can be found in the church of St. Anne in Shandon on the north side of Cork City.
- Western Gateway Building (East entrance atrium): A fine example of Irish silver craftmanship. This is a table centrepiece called an epergne (18th century).
- Mardyke Pavillion (first floor function room): A selection of UCC's greatest sporting treasures from the 19th and 20th centuries, covering a variety of sports including Gaelic games (hurling, camogie and footbal), rugby, association football (soccer), athletics (track and field), telling some of the great stories of UCC's sporting history. The Mardyke is an iconic venue in Irish sports history and has been the university's athletic grounds since 1912. The area has long bee a place for Cork people to relax and play sports and is immortalised in the Cork anthem, 'The Banks of my own Lovely Lee' in the line "...where we sported and played, 'neath the green leafy shade, on the banks of my own lovely Lee". Nearby is the Mardyke Arena main reception where you can found a display of photographs of sporting moments at the Mardyke, and some of the trophies won by UCC's student sports clubs, with other memorabilia of their activities.
Visitor Information and Access*
Information about UCC, our heritage of learning and the various display locations can be obtained from the UCC Visitors' Centre, North Wing, Main Quadrangle, University College Cork Ireland. Opening hours Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm; Sat, 12-5pm. Email email@example.com or Phone +353 (0)21 490 1876.
While the heritage displays listed here are usually accessible during normal working hours, this may be subject to restrictions due to academic activities, maintenance and site-specific closing times. Contact the Visitors' Centre for up-to-date information.
*All access to campus is under restriction during level 5 of the Covid-19 pandemic.