2015 Press Releases

Staff celebrated at #UCCOscars

15 Oct 2015
Some of the winners from the UCC Staff Recognition Awards 2015. See end of page for a full gallery from this special occasion. (Photo: Clare Keogh)

UCC has honoured a number of its staff for their outstanding contributions to University life at the 2015 Staff Recognition Awards. Affectionately dubbed the #UCCOscars, read on to find out the winners!

The Awards Ceremony combined presentations and accolades to winners from three separate award schemes: Teaching & Learning; Staff Recognition and Research. 

Dr Michael Murphy, President of UCC praised the recipients for their dedication and outstanding contributions to UCC, and also acknowledged the considerable work of the selection committees. He also encouraged staff to consider proposing a colleague in the 2016 call for nominations. 

In the Teaching & Learning Awards, 5 members of staff received an award for ‘Excellence in Teaching’ 

The Staff Recognition Awards provide a formal process for acknowledging outstanding achievements of staff and for publicly recognising such achievements to the University and the wider community. Fourteen awards were made across six categories: The Frank McGrath Perpetual Award for Equality & Welfare, Impact Award, Leadership Award, Exceptional Citizen Award, and Enhancing the Student Experience Award. This year saw the introduction of an additional award category, the Outstanding Colleague Award

The Research Awards were kindly sponsored by Gilead Sciences Ireland and this year UCC acknowledged excellence in research activity across four categories: ‘Early Stage Researcher of the Year’, ‘Research Supervisors of the Year’, ‘Research Support Person of the Year’ and ‘Research Team of the Year’.  Four PhD Scholarships were also awarded through the Strategic Research Fund, supporting the stimulation of new research areas whilst also maintaining existing areas of Research strength.

The 2015 winners in in each award scheme are as follows:

Teaching and Learning Awards

Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2014/15:

  • Dr Robbie Butler (School of Economics)
  • Dr Claire Murray and Dr Seán Ó Conaill (School of Law)
  • Dr Seamus O’Mahony (School of Food and Nutritional Science)
  • Dr Theresa Reidy (Department of Government) 

University Staff Recognition Awards

The Frank McGrath Perpetual Award For Equality & Welfare

  • Mr Cathal Kerrigan (Library and Information Services) and Dr Joan McCarthy (School of Nursing and Midwifery)

Enhancing the Student Experience Award

  • Ms Nóirín Deady (Admissions Office)
  • Members of the Student Health Department (Student Health Services)  - Dr Michael Byrne, Dr Aoife O’Sullivan, Dr Judy Dwyer, Dr Aideen Hurley, Dr Oonagh McKaigue, Ms Cathy Barry, Ms Martha Keeley, Mrs Pat Duffy, Ms Catherine Joyce, Ms Fiona Kennedy, Ms Jean O’Neill, Ms Brid McEvoy, Dr Mary Buckley, Ms Chris O’Brien, Ms Adriana Dinneen, Ms Liz O’ Donoghue, Mr Dave Carey, Ms Emily Lynch, Mr Declan Whelan-Curtin, Mr Martin Davoren and Mr Jim McEvoy

Exceptional Citizen Award

  • Mr Brian Corcoran (General Services)

Leadership Award

  • Professor Colin Bradley (Department of General Practice)
  • Dr Linda Connolly (Department of Sociology)
  • Dr Kieran Keohane (Department of Sociology)
  • Mr John McNulty (Academic Systems Administration)

Impact Award

  • Ms Loretta Brady (College of Arts, Celtic Studies and Social Sciences)
  • Dr Pádraig Cantillon-Murphy (School of Engineering)
  • Dr Samantha Dockray (School of Applied Psychology)
  • Mr Timothy O’Donovan (IT Services)

Outstanding Colleague Award

  • Mr Paul Moriarty (Student Development & Employability)
  • Mr John Murphy (General Services)

Research Awards  

Early Stage Researcher of the Year                         

  • Dr Lynette Keeney (Tyndall National Institute)
  • Dr Vikram Pakrashi (School of Engineering)

Research Support Person of the Year         

  • Ms Catherine Walsh (Collaborative Centre for Applied Nanotechnology & Microelectronic Circuits Centre of Ireland, Tyndall National Institute)

Research Supervisor of the Year                   

  • Dr Samantha Dockray (School of Applied Psychology)    

Research Team of the Year                                        

  • Professor Cian Ó Mathúna , representing the Magnetics on Silicon Team (Tyndall National Institute) 

2015 UCC Strategic Research Fund (SRF) PhD Scholarships                                                    


Primary supervisor – Department

Mr Paul Bradfield

Professor Siobhán Mullally – Law

Ms Tara Kenny

Dr Colin Sage – Geography

Ms Sandra Peake

Dr Orla Lynch - Sociology

Ms Emily Maria Power

Dr Marcus Claesson – Microbiology/APC

(Can't see the gallery of images below? Click here to go to the gallery directly on UCC Facebook)

University College Cork

Coláiste na hOllscoile Corcaigh

College Road, Cork T12 K8AF