Skip to main content

Irish Learning

Welcome to the School of Irish Learning

The School of Irish Learning consists of three Departments: the Department of Modern Irish, the Department of Early and Medieval Irish, and the Department of Irish Folklore and Ethnography. This combination of academic departments is reflective of the importance of Irish Studies and of Irish language and literature within UCC and in Irish life in general.  Each Department is at the forefront of third-level research, teaching and scholarship in its particular discipline, and each contributes to the cross-disciplinary community of the School of Irish Learning, which enjoys an international reputation.

The School organises regular public seminars and lectures, and engages in a significant publication programme.

School of Irish Learning

Scoil Léann na Gaeilge

T12 ND89