Staff Profiles & Phone Book

Staff Profiles

Staff Profiles

Department of Anatomy and Neuroscience Staff Image 2014 (4,388kB)

John Cryan

Name: John Cryan

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.86 Western Gateway Building

Position: Professor & Chair

Qualifications: BSc (Hons) PhD

More Information

Aideen Sullivan

Name: Aideen Sullivan

Contact Details:

Location: Room 4.115 Western Gateway Building

Position: Professor (Scale 2)

Qualifications: BSc PhD (Cantab) PG Cert T&L H Ed

More Information

Yvonne Nolan

Name: Yvonne Nolan

Contact Details:

Location: Room 4.117 Western Gateway Building

Position: Senior Lecturer

Qualifications: BSc PhD PG Cert-TLHE

More Information

Gerard O'Keeffe

Name: Gerard O'Keeffe

Contact Details:

Location: Room 4.119 Western Gateway Building

Position: Senior Lecturer

Qualifications: BSc PhD PG Cert-TLHE PG Dip-TLHE

More Information

Olivia O'Leary

Name: Olivia O'Leary

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.83 Western Gateway Building

Position: College Lecturer

Qualifications: BSc MSc PhD

More Information

Siobhain O'Mahony

Name: Siobhain O'Mahony

Contact Details:

Location: Room 4.113 Western Gateway Building

Position: College Lecturer

Qualifications: BSc MSc PhD

More Information

Kathleen Quane

Name: Kathleen Quane

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.84 Western Gateway Building

Position: College Lecturer

Qualifications: MB BCh BAO PhD

More Information

Harriët Schellekens

Name: Harriët Schellekens

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.85, Western Gateway Building,

Position: Lecturer

Qualifications: MSc PhD

More Information

André Toulouse

Name: André Toulouse

Contact Details:

Location: Room 4.118 Western Gateway Building

Position: College Lecturer

Qualifications: BSc MSc PhD PG Cert TLHE PG Dip TLHE

More Information

Andreea Factor

Name: Andreea Factor

Contact Details:

Location: Room 2.36 Western Gateway Building

Position: Part time Lecturer

Qualifications: MB BCh BAO MSc

More Information

Karl James

Name: Karl James

Contact Details:

Location: Room 2.33 Western Gateway Building, UCC and Dept. Of Radiology, Cork University Hospital

Position: Lecturer in Anatomy & Radiology, Departments of Radiology and Anatomy & Neuroscience, University College Cork

Qualifications: MB BCh BAO BMedSc FFR (RCSI)

More Information

Shane Hegarty

Name: Shane Hegarty

Contact Details:

Location: Room 2.33A Western Gateway Building

Position: Lecturer

Qualifications: BSc PhD

More Information

Miriam Dorgan

Name: Miriam Dorgan

Contact Details:

Location: Room 2.36 Western Gateway Building

Position: Senior Executive Assistant

More Information

Mary Moynihan

Name: Mary Moynihan

Contact Details:

Location: Room 2.36 Western Gateway Building

Position: Executive Assistant

More Information

Michael Cronin

Name: Michael Cronin

Contact Details:

Location: Room 4.01K WGB

Position: Senior Technical Officer

Qualifications: B.Sc.

More Information

Suzanne Crotty

Name: Suzanne Crotty

Contact Details:

Location: Room G.09 BioSciences Institute

Position: Senior Technical Officer

Qualifications: B.Sc. M.Sc

More Information

Tara Foley

Name: Tara Foley

Contact Details:

Location: Room 1.09 Biosciences Institute

Position: Senior Technical Officer

Qualifications: BSc, MSc

More Information

Sue Grenham

Name: Sue Grenham

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.56 WGB FLAME Laboratory

Position: Technical Officer/Prosector

Qualifications: B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D.

More Information

Deirdre Kelleher

Name: Deirdre Kelleher

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.56 WGB FLAME Laboratory

Position: Technical Operative

More Information

Gerard Moloney

Name: Gerard Moloney

Contact Details:

Location: Room 4.01K Western Gateway Building

Position: Technical Officer

Qualifications: Nat.Dip.Sc., M.Sc, PhD

More Information

Don O'Leary

Name: Don O'Leary

Contact Details:

Location: Room G.09 BioSciences Institute

Position: Senior Technical Officer

Qualifications: Nat.Dip.Sc. B.A. Ph.D.

More Information

Carrie O'Flynn

Name: Carrie O'Flynn

Contact Details:

Location: FLAME Lab Room 3.56 Western Gateway Building

Position: Technical Officer

Qualifications: BSc

More Information

Bereniece Riedewald

Name: Bereniece Riedewald

Contact Details:

Location: Room 1.10 BioSciences Institute

Position: Senior Technical Officer

Qualifications: Nat.Dip.Sc.,BA, H.Dip.Comp.Sc.

More Information

Wayne Sheehan

Name: Wayne Sheehan

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.56 WGB FLAME Laboratory

Position: Technical Officer

More Information

Dr Muhammad Asim Javaid, MD

Name: Dr Muhammad Asim Javaid, MD

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.56 WGB FLAME Laboratory

Position: Senior Medical Demonstrator & PhD Student

Qualifications: MBBS, ECFMG, MSc Cognitive Neuroscience

More Information

Mutahira Waqar  Ahmed Lone

Name: Mutahira Waqar Ahmed Lone

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.56 WGB FLAME Laboratory

Position: Senior Medical Demonstrator

Qualifications: BDS, MFD, MDPH

More Information

Johnny O'Mahony

Name: Johnny O'Mahony

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.56 WGB FLAME Laboratory

Position: Senior Medical Demonstrator

Qualifications: MB BCH BAO MRCSI PGD HFPS

More Information

Ahmad Hassan Sheikh

Name: Ahmad Hassan Sheikh

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.56 WGB FLAME Laboratory

Position: Senior Medical Demonstrator

Qualifications: MBBS, MRCS, PG-Dip-TLHE, MD

More Information

Joy Balta

Name: Joy Balta

Contact Details:

Location: Room 3.56 WGB FLAME Laboratory

Position: Programme Development Coordinator

Qualifications: BSc MSc Human Anatomy PhD

More Information

 

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

 

Ms Dorgan Miriam 5497 m.dorgan@ucc.ie 2.36, WGB Senior Executive Assistant
Ms Moynihan Mary 5874 m.moynihan@ucc.ie 2.36, WGB Executive Assistant

 

ACADEMIC STAFF

 

NAME PHONE EMAIL ROOM POSITION
Professor John Cryan

 420 5426 5497

4901752

j.cryan@ucc.ie 2.36, WGB Professor and Head of Department
Professor Aideen Sullivan 420 5427 a.sullivan@ucc.ie 4.115, WGB Professor (Scale 2)
Dr Yvonne Nolan 420 5476 E: y.nolan@ucc.ie 4.117, WGB Senior Lecturer
Dr Gerard O'Keeffe

420 5570

g.okeeffe@ucc.ie 4.119, WGB Senior Lecturer 
Dr Olivia O'Leary 420 5480 o.oleary@ucc.ie 3.83, WGB College Lecturer 
Dr Siobhain O'Mahony 420 5479 somahony@ucc.ie 4.113, WGB College Lecturer 
Dr Kathleen Quane 420 5428 K.Quane@ucc.ie 3.84, WGB College Lecturer 
Dr Harriët Schellekens 420 5429 H.Schellekens@ucc.ie 3.85, WGB College Lecturer
Dr André Toulouse 420 5477 a.toulouse@ucc.ie 4.118, WGB College Lecturer 
Dr. Andreea Factor           420 5846 andreea.factor@ucc.ie 2.36 WGB Part time Lecturer
Dr Karl James 420 5412 Karl.james@ucc.ie  2.36, WGB Lecturer in Anatomy & Radiology
Dr Shane Hegarty 1348/5719 shane.hegarty@ucc.ie G.03 BSI/ WGB 2.36A Lecturer

  

TECHNICAL STAFF

 

NAME PHONE EMAIL ROOM POSITION
Mr  Michael Cronin 420 5712 michaelcronin@ ucc.ie 4.01K, WGB Senior Technical Officer
Ms  Suzanne  Crotty 490 1350 s.crotty@ucc.ie G.09, BSI Senior Technical Officer
Ms Tara Foley

490 1309/

420 5478

t.foley@ucc.ie 1.09, BSI Senior Technical Officer
Mr. Pat Fitzgerald 490 1712 paxfitz@hotmail.com 5.38, BSI

Research Technician

Dr Sue Grenham 420 5461 s.grenham@UCC.ie 3.56, WGB Technical Officer/Prosector
Ms Deirdre Kelleher 420 5461 deirdre.kelleher@ucc.ie 3.56, WGB Technical Operative
Mr  Gerard Moloney 420 5864 g.moloney@ucc.ie 4.01K, WGB Technical Officer
Mr David O'Brien 420 5461 david.obrien@ucc.ie 3.56, WGB

Technical Operative

Ms Carrie O' Flynn 420 5461 carrie.oflynn@ucc.ie 3.56, WGB Technical Officer
Dr Don O'Leary 490 1350 d.oleary@ucc.ie G.09, BSI Senior Technical Officer
Dr Kieran Rea 490 1721 kieran.rea@ucc.ie 5.38, BSI Laboratory Manager
Ms Bereniece Riedewald 490 1304 b.rea@ucc.ie 1.10, BSI Senior Technical Officer

 

SENIOR MEDICAL DEMONSTRATORS

 

NAME PHONE EMAIL ROOM POSITION
Dr Muhammad Asim Javaid 420 5412 muhammad.ajavaid@ucc.ie 3.56, WGB Senior Medical Demonstrator
Dr Mutahira Ahamed Lone 4205412 m.lone@ucc.ie 3.56, WGB Senior Medical Demonstrator
Dr Ahmad Hassan Sheikh 420 5412 a.ahmad@ucc.ie 3.56, WGB Senior Medical Demonstrator
Dr Johnny O'Mahony 420 5412 johnny.omahony@ucc.ie 3.56 WGB Senior Medical Demonstrator
Dr Joy Balta 420 5494 Jbalta@ucc.ie
3.56, WGB

Programme Development Coordinator

 

POSTDOCTORAL RESEARCHERS

 

NAME PHONE EMAIL ROOM POSITION
Dr Andrew Allen 490 1712 andrewallen@ucc.ie  5.35, BSI Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr. Thorsten Becker   thorsten.becker@posteo.de   Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Yuliya Borre 490 1712 yborre@ucc.ie  5.35, BSI Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr. Aurelijus Burokas   aurelijus.burokas@ucc.ie   Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Anna Golubeva 490 1721 a.golubeva@ucc.ie  5.38, BSI Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr. Anand Gururajan 490 5478 anand.gururajan@ucc.ie 4.08 WGB Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr. Shane Hegarty 1348/5719 shane.hegarty@ucc.ie G.03, BSI/WGB 2.36A Post-Doctoral Research Fellow/Lecturer
Dr Cara Hueston 420 5478 chueston@ucc.ie  4.08, WGB Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Paul Kennedy 490 1712  pj.kennedy@ucc.ie 5.35, BSI  Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Caitriona Long-Smith 420 5478 c.longsmith@ucc.ie 4.08, WGB Postdoctoral Researcher
Karen-Anne McVey Neufeld       490 1712 karenanne.neufeld@ucc.ie 5.35, BSI Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Ángela Moya Pérez 490 1712 angela.moyaperez@ucc.ie 5.35, BSI Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Karen Scott 490 1712 k.scott@ucc.ie  5.35, WGB Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Roman Stilling 490 1712 rstilling@ucc.ie  5.35, BSI Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Cristina Torres 490 1781 c.torres@ucc.ie  3.63, BSI Postdoctoral Researcher

 

PhD STUDENTS

 

BSI PhD Office Ground Floor 490 1349  Biosciences Institute G.04 BSI  
BSI PhD Office 5th Floor 490 1712  Biosciences Institute 5.35 BSI  
WGB PhD Office 420 5478  Western Gateway WGB 4.01H  
         
Amnah AL-Shangiti   amn83_33@hotmail.com   PhD Student
Joy Balta 420 5415 jbalta@ucc.ie 3.56, WGB PhD Student
Eileen Curran 420 5013 ecurran@ucc.ie  INFANT, 5th Fl, CUMH PhD Student

Dalia Kandil

 

dkandil@ucc.ie

  PhD Student
Erin  Dolan                          420 5552 erin.dolan@umail.ucc.ie 3.61, WGB PhD Student

Alan Hoban

 490 1712

alanhoban@live.ie

5.35, BSI PhD Student

Ken Howick

 490 1303

kenhowick@hotmail.com

1.36, BSI PhD Student
Danka Kozareva 420 5552 d.kozareva@umail.ucc.ie 3.61, WGB PhD Student
Lívia Hecke Morais 490 1712  liviahmorais@gmail.com 5.35, BSI  PhD Student

Mutahira Lone

 420 5412

m.lone@ucc.ie

3.56, WGB PhD Student

Lívia Hecke Morais    

 

liviahmorais@gmail.com

   

Rory O’Connor

 

oconnr22@tcd.ie

   
James O'Leary 490 5552 jdoleary@yahoo.com  3.61, WGB PhD Student
Ciaran O'Leime 490 5554 c.oleime@umail.ucc.ie  3.61, WGB PhD Student

Veronica Peterson

490 1712  vlainepeterson@gmail.com 5.35 WGB PhD Student

Brunno Rocha Levone

 490 1349

bulevone@gmail.com

G.04 BSI PhD Student
Jahangir Sajjad   113221826@umail.ucc.ie   PhD Student
Marcel van de Wouw   marcelvandewouw@live.nl   PhD Student
Shauna Wallace-Fitzsimons   shauna.wallace@mycit.ie   PhD Student

 

MD and MSC STUDENTS

 

Ahmed Hassan Sheikh 420 5412 a.ahmad@ucc.ie  3.56, WGB MD Student

Mei Yap

 

siewmeiy@gmail.com

   MD Student

 

Anna Connelly  

annabananaconnolly@gmail.com

   MSc Student

Surabhi Theratile

 

s.theratile@umail.ucc.ie

   MSc Student

 

 Affiliated Postgraduate Students

Alison Barry    

E. Downer/K. O'Halloran

MSc Student

Physiology

Eileen Curran 

A. Khasan/P. Kearney/L. Kenny/T. Dinan/J. Cryan

PhD Student

Obstetrics and Gynaecology

James Dollard

T. Dinan

PhD Student   

Psychiatry       

Maria Donovan

J. Cryan/B. Griffin

PhD Student   

Pharmacy

Rachel Furlong

C. O'Neill/A. Sullivan

PhD Student

Biochemistry

Patrick Kirwan

J.Cryan/T. Dinan

MD Student

Psychiatry     

Sarah O'Donovan

C. O'Neill/A. Sullivan/G. Clarke

MSc Student

Biochemistry/Psychiatry

Clara Seira Oriach

J. Cryan/T. Dinan/C.Stanton

PhD Student   

Psychiatry       

Katie Togher

G. O’Keeffe/L. Kenny/G. Clarke/A. Khasan  

PhD Student   

Obstetrics and Gynaecology

 

Laboratory Phone Numbers in Bioscience Institute

 

Building Laboratory Room Number Phone
BSI General Lab 1.33 490 1359
BSI Tissue Culture 1.35 490 1308
BSI Image Analysis 1.36 490 1303
BSI Molecular Lab G.20 490 1354
BSI Cryostat Lab G.19 490 1352
BSI Tissue Prep. Lab G.18 490 1353
BSI Electro-physiology Lab G.17 490 1351
BSI Electron Microscopy Prep. lab G.16 490 1356
BSI Confocal Microscope Olympus FV1000 G.15 490 1428
BSI Inverted Research Microscope G.14 490 1357
BSI Upright Research Microscope G.12 490 1358
BSI Confocal Microscope Olympus MP G.05 490 1410
BSI John Cryan APC Lab 5.35 490 1685

 

Laboratory Phone Numbers in Western Gateway Building (WGB)

 

Building Laboratory Room Phone
WGB Research lab                                         3.12                 420 5495

 

Biological Services Unit (BSU)

BSU Biological Services Unit (BSU) Technical Officers                      490 2806
BSU Patricia Vernon 434 6570
BSU Kieran McManamon 490 2741
BSU BSU Annex 490 1790

 

 

EMERGENCY NUMBERS for out of hours donors

On-call staff mobile (087) 090 9481
Forde’s funeral directors (021) 431 8222
University Switchboard (021) 490 3000

 

Security

UCC Security Main Desk (021) 490 2266
UCC Security Western Gateway Building (021) 420 5800
Close X