A World Leading SFI Research Centre - Science Foundation Ireland - For What's Next

APC News

APC among big winners at UCC Research Awards 2022

9 Jun 2023
APC collecting their awards at the UCC 2022 Research Awards


Annual awards recognise and celebrate excellence in research and innovation.


APC staff and affiliations were among the key winners at the 2022 UCC Research awards collecting 5 separate awards for contributions to research and innovation.


  • UCC’s first European Research Council (ERC) Advanced award holder, APC Director Paul Ross, was a joint winner of the Researcher of the Year award. Paul is recognised in Web of Science by Clarivate Analytics as a highly cited researcher ranking in the top 1% by citations in his field (2018 - 2022) and was recently ranked first in Research.com’s Irish microbiologists listings and 25th globally. Paul was also the recipient of Research.com’s Microbiology Leader Award for 2023.
  • APC PI Catherine Stanton, based at Teagasc, Moorepark and author of 449 peer-reviewed original articles and reviews (of which 18 were published in 2022) was joint winner Research Supervisor of the Year. Catherine has supervised 54 PhD students (of which 6 submitted and completed their PhD in 2022), 21 Masters students, and currently has 10 PhD students and 6 post-doctoral staff in her group.
  • APC Funded Investigators Brendan Griffin and Piotr Kowalski based in the UCC School of Pharmacy each picked up awards. Reflecting UCC’s strong heritage in ribonucleic acid (RNA) research Piotr received the Early-Stage Researcher of the Year award for the significant contribution and ground breaking work he has completed to the development of novel biomaterials for messenger RNA (mRNA) delivery. Brendan was a joint recipient on the Research Collaboration of the Year award – for his work on the The InPharma European Industrial Doctorate network. Launched in 2022 the InPharma consortium was awarded €3.5m under H2020 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions 2020 Innovative training Network (ITNs) programme to support public -private collaboration among numerous multi-national pharmaceutical companies.
  • And finally, APC progeny Adiso Therapeutics, co-founded by APC’s Paul Ross and Colin Hill collected the Spin-out Company of the Year The company - formed in 2022 from the merger of Artugen Therapeutics and Bacainn Therapeutics - is developing therapies for underserved patients with significant unmet clinical needs. ADISO was named to reflect the movement toward a healthier more balanced immunological and inflammatory state. The Adiso portfolio comprise novel candidates of single strain live biotherapeutics and small molecules. One lead candidate, ADS024, is a naturally occurring bacterial strain which was discovered by Artugen Therapeutics and APC Microbiome Ireland. Preclinical analyses strongly suggest it a promising candidate for the prevention of recurrent Clostridioides difficile infection (CDI) and treatment of ulcerative colitis (UC). Read more about Adiso Therapeutics here


Professor John F. Cryan, UCC Vice President for Research and Innovation at UCC said: “Congratulations to all awards recipients. This year, the standard of nominations across all award categories was indicative of the exceptional level of research and innovation throughout the University. UCC is a research-intensive University, and the annual Research Awards recognise and celebrate those UCC researchers who have made exceptional and influential research and innovation contributions, pushing boundaries, enhancing knowledge and raising the national and international research profile of our institution.”

The quality and recognition of research success across the University plays a key role in the development of Ireland’s knowledge-based economy and is measured by key metrics such as publications, citations, collaborative interactions, patents and spin-out companies. Researchers were awarded across 20 categories, five of which recognise specific achievements in entrepreneurship and innovation. For the full list of award winners click here











Host Institution

Host Logos - UCC and Teagasc

Partner Institutions

APC Microbiome Ireland

Biosciences Building, University College Cork, Ireland,