The Centre for Criminal Justice and Human Rights was established by the Faculty of Law, UCC in 2006. The study of criminal justice and human rights and the intersection between the two raises complex and challenging questions. The Centre seeks to contribute to national and international debates on these questions through the promotion of cutting edge interdisciplinary research, innovative programmes of legal education and training, and strategic partnerships with Government, statutory bodies, and civil society organisations worldwide.

Research at the Centre is informed by legal practice and clinical education underpins our mission. The Centre builds on the success of the LLM (Criminal Justice) and the Faculty’s growing international reputation for excellence in teaching and research in the fields of criminal law, criminal justice and human rights. 

Aims of the Centre

  • To pursue innovative and interdisciplinary research into crime, justice and human rights and to produce scholarship of excellence in these fields;
  • To engage with and contribute to debates on law reform and policy development at national and international levels;
  • To develop innovative legal education, capacity building, training and outreach programs;
  • To foster a community of researchers in the field of crime, justice and human rights and to provide opportunities for postgraduate students and new career entrants.

 

Subscribe to the CCJHR mailing list

Or

Use our form to manage your mailings from the CCJHR

 

 

 

 

Director
Professor Siobhan Mullally
Research/ Teaching: 
Human Rights Law; Public International Law; Immigration and Refugee Law; International Criminal Law
Tel. +353 21 490 2699.  E-mail s.mullally@ucc.ie
Dorothy Appelbe
Deputy Director  

Dr Claire Murray
Research/Teaching:
Medical Law, Welfare Law, Moot Court, Legal Skills & Analysis, Tort Law and Family Law
Tel. +353 21 490 3809.  E-mail c.murray@ucc.ie

Dr Claire Murray 

 

 

Executive Board

Professor Ursula Kilkelly
Research/ Teaching: 
Children's rights, including education, family and justice issues, juvenile justice, moot court, international trade law
Tel. +353 21 490 3642.  E-mail u.kilkelly@ucc.ie

  Dr Ursula Kilkelly
Professor Caroline Fennell
Research/ Teaching: 
Law of Evidence, Criminal Justice, Terrorism and Organised Crime.
Tel. +353 21 490 2547.  E-mail c.fennell@ucc.ie
 Caroline Fennell

Dr Catherine O'Sullivan
Research/ Teaching: 
Criminal Law, Company Law
Tel. +353 21 490 3285.  E-mail catherine.osullivan@ucc.ie

Dr Catherine O'Sullivan

Ms Dorothy Appelbe
Clinical Legal Education Co-ordinator
Tel. +353-21-490 3203.  E-mail d.appelbe@ucc.ie   

Dorothy Appelbe
Dr Fiona Donson
Research/ Teaching: 
Criminal Law, Jurisprudence, Human Rights
Tel. +353 21 490 3159.  E-mail f.donson@ucc.ie
Dr Fiona Donson
Dr Darius Whelan
Research/ Teaching: 
Mental Health Law, Internet Regulation, Employment and Labour Law
Tel. +353 21 490 3452.  E-mail d.whelan@ucc.ie  
Darius Whelan
Dr Conor O'Mahony
Research/ Teaching: 
Constitutional Law, Company Law
Tel. +353 21 490 3041.  E-mail conor.omahony@ucc.ie  
Conor O'Mahony

Dr Aisling Parkes

Research/Teaching:

International Children's Rights, Family Law, Welfare Law, Public Law, Evidence

Tel: 021-420-5167. Email: a.parkes@ucc.ie

 Dr Aisling Parkes
Professor Maeve McDonagh
Research/ Teaching: 
Freedom of Information, Privacy and Data Protection, Information Technology law, Human Rights
Tel. +353 21 490 2854.  E-mail m.mcdonagh@ucc.ie  
Maeve McDonagh

Dr Vittorio Bufacchi

Lecturer / Head of Department Philosophy University College Cork
T: +353-21-490-3000 F: +353 21 490 2567 E: VBufacchi@philosophy.ucc.ie

Dr Vittorio Bufacchi

Anna Marie Brennan (Student Member)

Email: anna.brennan@umail.ucc.ie

 

 

 

Staff Members
Dr Mary Donnelly
Research/ Teaching: 
Law of Financial Transactions, Credit and Security Law, Medical Law and Ethics
Tel. +353 21 490 2857.  E-mail m.donnelly@ucc.ie  
Mary Donnelly
Dr Deirdre Madden
Research/ Teaching: 
Medical Law, Company Law
Tel. +353 21 490 2990.  E-mail dm@ucc.ie  

 

Administrative Staff

Ms Noreen Delea

Conference Organiser/Coordinator
E-mail:  ccjhr@ucc.ie

Noreed Delea, Conference Organiser/Coordinator

Ms Anne-Marie Curtin

CCJHR Administrator

Te: 021-4903249. Email: am.curtin@ucc.ie

 

General Contact Details

Email ccjhr@ucc.ie

Tel. +353-(0)21-490 2728

Fax +353-(0)21-4270690

 

CCJHR Adminstrator

Anne-Marie Curtin

Email: am.curtin@ucc.ie

Tel: 021-4903249

CCJHR Events Coordinator

Noreen Delea

Email: n.delea@ucc.ie

Tel: 021-4903220

Close X